Heretics Anonymous by Katie Henry audiobook

Heretics Anonymous

By Katie Henry
Read by Michael Crouch

Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollins 9780062698872

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982553029

  • ISBN: 9781982553012

  • ISBN: 9781982553036

Runtime: 9.08 Hours
Category: Fiction/Religious
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

* Amazon Best Book of the Month August 2018 * New York Public Library Best Books 2018 *

Put an atheist in a strict Catholic school? Expect comedy, chaos, and an Inquisition. The Breakfast Club meets Saved! in debut author Katie Henry’s hilarious novel about a band of misfits who set out to challenge their school, one nun at a time. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Robyn Schneider.

When Michael walks through the doors of Catholic school, things can’t get much worse. His dad has just made the family move again, and Michael needs a friend. When a girl challenges their teacher in class, Michael thinks he might have found one, and a fellow atheist at that. Only this girl, Lucy, isn’t just Catholic . . . she wants to be a priest.

Lucy introduces Michael to other St. Clare’s outcasts, and he officially joins Heretics Anonymous, where he can be an atheist, Lucy can be an outspoken feminist, Avi can be Jewish and gay, Max can wear whatever he wants, and Eden can practice paganism.

Michael encourages the Heretics to go from secret society to rebels intent on exposing the school’s hypocrisies one stunt at a time. But when Michael takes one mission too far—putting the other Heretics at risk—he must decide whether to fight for his own freedom or rely on faith, whatever that means, in God, his friends, or himself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Come for the arch first-person narrative and puppy love, stay for the examination into belief.” Booklist (starred review)
“Insightful…With a page-ripping plot and realistic character development, Henry’s funny, heartwarming tale of unlikely rebels soars: an auspicious debut.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“In this entertaining coming-of-age story…none of Henry’s multidimensional, multiethnic characters fall into stereotypes, and her snappy dialogue sparkles throughout this skillfully crafted debut.” Publishers Weekly
“Hilarious, irreverent, charming, and an absolute delight! This book is everything I hoped for and more.” Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything
“Funny, touching, and wonderfully evenhanded, Katie Henry’s debut novel is a weirdo’s guide to faith—in the best possible way.” Anna Breslaw, author of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here
“Katie Henry deftly weaves a nuanced coming-of-age story with the hilarity of medieval church history, feminist theology, and the achingly real struggle of coming to terms with one’s faith. I loved this book like whoa.” Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Pain

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Katie Henry

Author Bio: Katie Henry

Katie Henry is a writer living and working in New York City. She received her BFA in dramatic writing from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and is a published playwright, specializing in theater for young audiences. Her plays have been performed by high schools and community organizations in over thirty states. You can find her online at KatieHenryWrites.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Religious
Runtime: 9.08
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English