The Secrets We Carried by Mary McNear audiobook

The Secrets We Carried

By Mary McNear
Read by Amanda Dolan

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062846105

The Butternut Lake Series: Book 6

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982554460

  • ISBN: 9781982554453

  • ISBN: 9781982554477

Runtime: 9.40 Hours
Category: Fiction/Women
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Readers who love Susan Wiggs and Susan Mallery will adore New York Times bestselling author Mary McNear newest novel. A young woman travels home to Butternut Lake, confronting her past and the tragedy she and her friends have silently carried with them for over a decade while also facing an unknown future.

Butternut Lake is an idyllic place—but for one woman, her return to the lake town she once called home is bittersweet…

Sometimes life changes in an instant.

Quinn LaPointe grew up on beautiful Butternut Lake, safe, secure, sure of her future. But after a high school tragedy, she left for college and never looked back. Becoming a successful writer in Chicago, she worked to keep out the dark memories of an accident that upended her life. But now, after ten years, she’s finally returned home.

Butternut is the same, and yet everything is changed. Gabriel Shipp, once her very best friend, doesn’t want anything to do with her. The charming guy she remembers is now brooding and withdrawn. Tanner Lightman, the seductive brother of her late boyfriend, wants her to stick around. Annika Bergstrom, an old classmate who once hated Quinn, is now friendly. Everyone, it seems, has a secret.

Determined to come to terms with the tragedy and rebuild old relationships, Quinn settles into Loon Bay Cabins, a rustic but cozy lakeside resort, where she begins writing down her memories of the year before the accident. Her journey though the past leads her to some surprising discoveries about the present. As secrets are revealed and a new love emerges, Quinn finds that understanding the past is the key to the future.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Ultimately a story of healing, first loves, forgiveness, and home…a great pick for anyone looking for an engaging, warm-hearted summer read, especially one with a beautiful midwestern setting.” Booklist
Up at Butternut Lake is a great, emotional read for every woman who must face the past before moving forward.” Sherryl Woods, #1 New York Times bestselling author, praise for the series
“A delicious setting and a heroine to cheer for, Moonlight on Butternut Lake is my favorite kind of book, one that treads that pleasurable line between romance and women’s fiction. Enjoy!” Susan Elizabeth Philips, New York Times bestselling author, praise for the series

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Mary McNear

Author Bio: Mary McNear

Mary McNear, the author of the Butternut Lake trilogy, writes in a local doughnut shop, where she sips Diet Pepsi, observes the hubbub of neighborhood life, and tries to resist the constant temptation of freshly made doughnuts. She bases her novels on a lifetime of summers spent in a small town on a lake in the northern Midwest. She currently lives in San Francisco with her husband, two teenage children, and a high-strung, minuscule white dog named Macaroon.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 9.40
Audience: Adult
Language: English