Swimming for Sunlight by Allie Larkin audiobook

Swimming for Sunlight

By Allie Larkin
Read by Madeleine Maby

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781501198489

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781508278740

  • ISBN: 9781508278733

Runtime: 10.02 Hours
Category: Fiction/Women
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.

Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan.

But Katie quickly learns there’s a lot she doesn’t know about Nan—like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water.

As Katie’s college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark’s fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“I dare you not to hug this book when you finish.” Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Allie Larkin

Author Bio: Allie Larkin

Allie Larkin is the internationally bestselling author of the novel Stay. She has never ordered a dog off the internet or assumed a new identity to attend a high school reunion. When Allie writes, she wears an over-sized circa 1980’s acrylic sweater that is a crime against fashion and good taste in general. She loves Boston. The band, not the city. But the city is great, too. She lives with her husband, Jeremy, their two German Shepherds, Argo and Stella, and a three-legged cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 10.02
Audience: Adult
Language: English