The Editor by Steven Rowley audiobook

The Editor

By Steven Rowley
Read by Michael Urie

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781984839596

  • ISBN: 9781984839596

Runtime: 10.35 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

From the bestselling author of Lily and the Octopus comes a novel about a struggling writer who gets his big break, with a little help from the most famous woman in America.

After years of trying to make it as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally sells his novel to an editor at a major publishing house: none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie--or Mrs. Onassis, as she's known in the office--has fallen in love with James's candidly autobiographical novel, one that exposes his own dysfunctional family. But when the book's forthcoming publication threatens to unravel already fragile relationships, both within his family and with his partner, James finds that he can't bring himself to finish the manuscript.

Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, and she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to head home to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. Then a long-held family secret is revealed, and he realizes his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page...

From the bestselling author of Lily and the Octopus comes a funny, poignant, and highly original novel about an author whose relationship with his very famous book editor will change him forever--both as a writer and a son.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Told with warmth and humor, Steven Rowley's charming second novel tells the story of a mother-son reconciliation, facilitated by a most unlikely fairy godmother. The Editor offers a delightful fictional glimpse of an iconic American family—but it is, at heart, a tribute to every family whose last name isn't Kennedy. Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists
Steven Rowley has hit a home run. What a stunning portrayal of family this is. At turns equally laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant, Rowley has created a truly unforgettable story of a son trying to understand his mother. The Editor is one of those exceptional stories that is both a joy to read on every page and also deeply profound and significant. It took my breath away. Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and the Six 
While diving deep into questions of identity, loyalty, and absolution within the bonds of family, Rowley, author of the beloved Lily and the Octopus, soars to satisfying heights in this deeply sensitive depiction of the symbiotic relationships at the heart of every good professional, and personal, partnership. Booklist
The Editor is an absolute triumph! By page three, I announced aloud, 'I LOVE THIS BOOK.' Rowley is a master of creating characters you fall in love with and never want to leave. Julie Klam, author of The Stars In Our Eyes
The Editor will have you weeping tears of joy when it's not quietly breaking your heart. It's a study of mothers and sons, unlikely friendships, and how we go about collecting the scattered pieces of our pasts. It takes guts, humor, and immense talent to write a book like this. Lucky for us, Rowley has plenty of all three. Grant Ginder, author of The People We Hate at the Wedding
The Editor is an absolute delight from start to finish. Steven Rowley writes such evocative, compelling characters, and his ability to buck the cliche in favor of true nuanced emotion is a gift. Rowley's portrayal of the unconventional relationship between a charmingly uncertain James Smale and the one and only Mrs. Onassis made me laugh, nod and eventually, cry. I adored this book! Sally Hepworth, author of The Mother-in-Law
This funny, warm, and thought-provoking novel is the next best thing to having Jackie O. around to make us see how the larger-than-life characters in our own histories—our mothers—are as human, fallible, and as prone to heartbreak as us kids. Keep tissues handy. I had to use a bedsheet. Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Be Frank With Me
What fun! This droll and wonderfully poignant book gives you full access to one of the most fascinating figures of the twentieth century. A delight. Henry Alford, author of And Then We Danced
A poignant tale...Rowley deliberately mines the sentiment of the mother/son bond, but skillfully saves it from sentimentality; this is a winning dissection of family, forgiveness, and fame. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
The resonance of Rowley's originality and sensitivity shines on every page. He has written a refreshing, superbly crafted novel of hard-won self-discovery filled with big, well-paced scenes and a pitch-perfect blend of humor and compassion that will charm and fully engage readers. Shelf Awareness
The Editor is a sweet and charming novel, perfect for fans of Jackie O and Rowley's first novel, Lily and the Octopus, alike. PopSugar
“[A] delightful slice of historical fiction. Entertainment Weekly (“Must List”)
 “Steven Rowley is the best-selling author of Lily and the Octopus, and he's honestly outdone himself with The Editor. Cosmopolitan 
"[A] sharp, funny sophomore novel. Town and Country 
"Witty and heartwarming. InStyle 
The Editor...sweetly evokes a mature Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. In 1990s New York, James Smale is an obscure first-time novelist, but his editor is world-famous. In this delicately observed tale the steely Jackie becomes not just the midwife of the angsty gay Smale's manuscript, but of a wider reconciliation. Sunday Times (UK) 
A journey of self-discovery...Ultimately a story not about celebrity but about family and forgiveness. TIME "[A] funny, poignant novel about a young writer and his fabulous editor, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.
Filled with whimsy and warmth, the Lily and the Octopus author’s second novel centers on the complex relationship between a fledgling writer and his fabulous editor, the latter of whom becomes a mentor, friend, and maternal figure. Oh, and she happens to be Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, but that’s Mrs. Onassis to you. O, The Oprah Magazine

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Steven Rowley

Author Bio: Steven Rowley

Steven Rowley has worked as a freelance writer, newspaper columnist, and screenwriter. Originally from Portland, Maine, he is a graduate of Emerson College. He currently resides in Los Angeles. Lily and the Octopus is his first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.35
Audience: Adult
Language: English