One Second After by William R. Forstchen audiobook

One Second After

By William R. Forstchen
Foreword by Newt Gingrich
Afterword by William D. Sanders
Read by Joe Barrett

Blackstone Publishing 9780765317582

The One Second After Series: Book 1

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781433256998

  • ISBN: 9781433256974

  • ISBN: 9781433257001

  • ISBN: 9781433257049

Runtime: 13.31 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

An Apple iBooks bestseller in Science Fiction and Fantasy

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The only thing more terrifying than this masterfully crafted story is the possibility of it actually happening—and not a damn thing being done to protect us.” W.E.B. Griffin and William E. Butterworth IV, New York Times bestselling authors
“Civilization slides into the abyss of a new dark age in this horrifying apocalyptic novel.” Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author
“Forstchen’s work has flair and power.” Joel Rosenberg, New York Times bestselling author
“Good storytelling consists very simply of creating characters so believable that the reader forms a deep bond…Shortly after the first page, I had been reeled in hook, line, and, sinker.” David Hagberg, author of Dance with the Dragon
“[An] entertaining apocalyptic thriller…fans of such classics as Alas, Babylon and On the Beach will have a good time as Forstchen tackles the obvious and some not-so-obvious questions the apocalypse tends to raise.” Publishers Weekly
“What would happen in the U.S. in the event of an EMP (electromagnetic pulse) attack? The answer: Everything electronic—EVERYTHING—would be fried. That’s exactly what happens in this story, which centers on Colonel John Matherson, U.S. Army, retired, now a professor of history in Black Mountain, North Carolina. The character’s powers of ingenuity are challenged to the limit as they realize just how fragile the barrier between civilization and barbarism is. Joe Barrett’s baritone is steady and sometimes a bit gravelly, and his serious tone suits these events well. His vocal characterizations are not as good as his narrative, but they do not distract from the story overall.” AudioFile
“Forstchen’s well-crafted and compelling story…reminds us of how helpless we’d be without modern technology—a chilling thought, as EMP is a real threat to the industrialized world. Elegantly narrated by Joe Barrett; a haunting, essential listen.” Library Journal (audio review)
“Retired Army colonel and college teacher John Matherson’s stoic determination that his family survive the chaos is convincingly communicated through Barrett’s deep, brooding tones…Most compelling are his realistic enactments of Matherson’s deterioration from infection…A compelling, cautionary tale.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: William R. Forstchen

Author Bio: William R. Forstchen

William R. Forstchen has a PhD from Purdue University with specializations in Military History and the History of Technology. He is a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College. He is the author of fifty books, including the New York Times bestselling John Matherson series, the Lost Regiment series, and the award-winning young adult novel We Look Like Men of War. He has also authored numerous short stories and articles about military history and military technology.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 13.31
Audience: Adult
Language: English