A Murderous Malady by Christine Trent audiobook
Sole Source

A Murderous Malady: A Florence Nightingale Mystery

By Christine Trent
Read by Lucy Rayner

The Florence Nightingale Mysteries: Book 2

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982628826

  • ISBN: 9781982628819

  • ISBN: 9781982628833

Runtime: 10.46 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying of a far more intentional cause―murder.

The London summer of 1854 is drawing to a close when a deadly outbreak of cholera grips the city. Florence Nightingale is back on the scene marshaling her nurses to help treat countless suffering patients at Middlesex Hospital as the disease tears through the Soho slums. But beyond the dangers of the disease, something even more evil is seeping through the ailing streets of London.

It begins with an attack on the carriage of Florence’s friend, Elizabeth Herbert, wife of Secretary at War Sidney Herbert. Elizabeth survives, but her coachman does not. Within hours, Sidney’s valet stumbles into the hospital, mutters a few cryptic words about the attack, and promptly dies from cholera. Sidney, frantic that an assassin is stalking his wife, enlists Florence’s help, who accepts but has little to go on except for the valet’s last words and a curious set of dice in his jacket pocket. Soon, the suspects are piling up faster than cholera victims, as there seems to be no end to the number of people who bear a grudge against the Herbert household.

Now, Florence is in a race against time―not only to save the victims of a lethal disease but to foil a murderer with a disturbingly sinister goal.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Trent’s well-researched sequel to 2018’s No Cure for the Dead blends Victorian political and cultural mores with a tidy mystery…The varied settings, from the mansions of the wealthy to the pitiful hovels of the poor, add depth to the narrative.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Christine Trent

Author Bio: Christine Trent

Christine Trent is the author of the Lady of Ashes mysteries, the Florence Nightingale mysteries, and several other historical novels. She writes from her two-story home library, where she lives with her husband, precocious cats, a large doll collection, too many fountain pens, and over four thousand catalogued books.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.46
Audience: Adult
Language: English