A Good Kind of Trouble by Lisa Moore Ramée audiobook

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Read by Imani Parks

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982641580

  • ISBN: 9781982641573

  • ISBN: 9781982641597

Runtime: 6.76 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Full of heart and truth…A well-written page turner with a voice that stays with you long after you put the book down.” Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Ramée effectively portrays the importance of the Black Lives Matter movement and the difficulty of navigating complex social situations while conveying universal middle school questions about friendship, first crushes, and identity. Shay’s journey is an authentic and engaging political and personal awakening.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Reminiscent in writing style to works by Lauren Myracle and Jason Reynolds, this novel starts by showing Shayla having typical middle school problems, then switches to the very specific problems she faces as a young black girl in America…Highly recommended.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“A solid story for middle-schoolers dealing with issues such as friendship across racial lines, being strong girls, #BLM, #MeToo, civil rights, diversity, and justice.” Booklist
“Awkward, endearing, and memorable, Shayla navigates the world of middle school and the troubled world beyond with wit and endless heart. A timely, funny, and unforgettable debut about friendship, facing your fears, and standing up for what’s right.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lisa Moore Ramée

Author Bio: Lisa Moore Ramée Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles and she now lives in the Bay Area of California, with her husband, two kids, and two obnoxious cats. A Good Kind of Trouble is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.76
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English