Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia audiobook

Eliza and Her Monsters

By Francesca Zappia
Read by Caitlin Kelly  and Kate Rudd

Greenwillow Books, HarperCollins 9780062290137

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982656621

  • ISBN: 9781982656614

  • ISBN: 9781982656638

Runtime: 8.85 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.”—Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times–bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.”—School Library Journal

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community.

Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book

Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Kirkus Best Book

Texas Tayshas Pick

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.” Marieke Nijkamp, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Zappia’s lighter approach…doesn’t diminish the strength of this sensitive and compassionate story or the message mirrored in the themes of the webcomic: there are monsters in the world, both real and imaginary, and without support systems, those monsters can cause great harm.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Zappia’s work will resonate with teens who write, create art, and love fandoms. Introverted readers will connect with the protagonist.” School Library Journal
“In her sophomore novel, Zappia gracefully examines Eliza’s complicated struggle with anxiety, depression, and even suicidal thoughts…A fervent celebration of online fandom, sure to leave readers craving an actual Monstrous Sea comic.” Booklist (starred review)
“A wrenching depiction of depression and anxiety, respectful to fandom, online-only friendships, and the benefits and dangers of internet fame.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Francesca Zappia

Author Bio: Francesca Zappia

Francesca Zappia lives in Indiana, majors in Computer Science at the University of Indianapolis, and still isn’t sure exactly how that happened. She spends most of her time writing, reading, drawing, watching anime, and playing way too much Pokémon. Some of her stories have nice neat endings, and others don’t have very neat endings at all.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.85
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English