Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga audiobook

Other Words for Home

By Jasmine Warga
Read by Vaneh Assadourian

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 05/28/2019

    ISBN: 9781982657376

  • Available on 05/28/2019

    ISBN: 9781982657369

  • Available on 05/28/2019

    ISBN: 9781982657383

Runtime: 3.84 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beautiful, powerful, and necessary book for all readers.” Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author
“Warga effectively shows, as she writes in an author’s note, that ‘children who are fleeing from a war zone… want the same things all of us do—love, understanding, safety, a chance at happiness.’” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A story about war and displacement, resilience and adjustment…Poetic, immersive, hopeful.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jasmine Warga

Author Bio: Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga grew up outside of Cincinnati, Ohio. Before becoming a full-time writer, she briefly worked as a science teacher.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.84
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English