Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga audiobook

Other Words for Home

By Jasmine Warga
Read by Vaneh Assadourian

9780062747808

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982657376

  • ISBN: 9781982657369

  • ISBN: 9781982657383

Runtime: 3.84 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beautiful, powerful, and necessary book for all readers.” Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author
“Narrator Vaneh Assadourian’s rich, lilting voice underscores the lyricism of this audiobook spoken in verse…Assadourian switches effortlessly between Arabic accents for Jude and her family, American accents, and varied accents for the other immigrants in Jude’s ESL class. She embodies Jude’s mixed emotions as she struggles gracefully to adjust to her new home and school. Anyone who has felt like an outsider will relate to Jude’s hopeful search for belonging. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Warga effectively shows, as she writes in an author’s note, that ‘children who are fleeing from a war zone… want the same things all of us do—love, understanding, safety, a chance at happiness.’” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“This powerful middle grade novel explores the complicated concepts of war and corruption, home, family, belonging, and how, in Jude’s own words, ‘It is strange to feel lucky/for something that is making my heart feel so sad.’” School Library Journal (starred reviews)
“From start to finish, Warga’s middle-grade debut puts its hands around your heart and holds it, ever so gently, so that you’re aware of your own fragility and resilience—just as Jude is while her life changes drastically from one day to the next…This should find its way into every middle-grade reader’s hands.” Booklist (starred review)
“A story about war and displacement, resilience and adjustment…Poetic, immersive, hopeful.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jasmine Warga

Author Bio: Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga grew up outside of Cincinnati, Ohio. Before becoming a full-time writer, she briefly worked as a science teacher.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.84
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English