What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture <i>Brian Banks</i>) by Brian Banks audiobook

What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks): A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed

By Brian Banks , with Mark Dagostino
Read by Brian Banks

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982121310

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781508295044

  • ISBN: 9781508295037

Runtime: 8.25 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Brian Banks, the major motion picture starring Aldis Hodge, Greg Kinnear, and Sherri Shepherd, winner of the audience award at the 2018 LA Film Festival, opens nationwide in 2019!

Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks—a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.

At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit.

Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal—and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison.

At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment.

When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to re-build his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true.

Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Brian Banks

Author Bio: Brian Banks

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 8.25
Audience: Adult
Language: English