Stay by Bobbie Pyron audiobook

Stay

By Bobbie Pyron
Read by Kathleen McInerney  and Kirby Heyborne

Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollins 9780062839220

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781982661311

  • ISBN: 9781982661304

  • ISBN: 9781982661328

Runtime: 6.09 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Fans of Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she’s determined to reunite with his family.

Piper’s life is turned upside down when her family moves into a shelter in a whole new city. She misses her house, her friends, and her privacy—and she hates being labeled the homeless girl at her new school.

But while Hope House offers her new challenges, it also brings new friendships, like the girls in Firefly Girls Troop 423 and a sweet street dog named Baby. So when Baby’s person goes missing, Piper knows she has to help. But helping means finding the courage to trust herself and her new friends, no matter what anyone says about them—before Baby gets taken away for good.

Told in alternating perspectives, this classic and heartfelt animal tale proclaims the importance of hope, the power of story, and the true meaning of home.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Timely, important, and truly beautiful.” Katherine Applegate, New York Times bestselling author
“A small dog, the elderly woman who owns him, and a homeless girl come together to create a tale of serendipity. Entrancing and uplifting.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Evoking innocent and energetic doggy-ish dedication, love, and longing…This title is an excellent book for raising awareness and empathy.” School Library Journal
“Kathleen McInerney narrates most of this story about homelessness, pets, and modern life [while] Kirby Heyborne impeccably portrays Baby, the loving and lovable dog…As Jewel goes into a hospital, McInerney conveys each person realistically, including how they help each other despite their poverty, while Heyborne depicts Baby’s heartbreak as he enters a shelter. The most endearing and admirable creation is Piper, who with her fellow Firefly troop, sells brownies to help Jewel and Baby. The conclusion is both satisfying and believable.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Bobbie Pyron

Author Bio: Bobbie Pyron

Bobbie Pyron has worked in libraries and bookstores in North Carolina, Tennessee, and Utah and has been active in local animal rescue work for many years. She’s the author of A Pup Called Trouble, A Dog’s Way Home, and Stay. Bobbie lives in Ashville, NC, with her husband, Todd, and their dog, Sherlock.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.09
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English