The Grace Year by Kim Liggett audiobook

The Grace Year

By Kim Liggett
Read by Emily Shaffer

Macmillan Young Listeners 9781250145444

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 11/26/2019

    ISBN: 9781250241252

  • Available on 11/26/2019

    ISBN: 9781250241252

Runtime: 11.71 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author.

A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. Optioned by Universal and Elizabeth Banks to be a major motion picture!

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner." – Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author

Survive the year.

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.

Praise for The Grace Year:

"The Grace Year seethes with love and brutality, violence and hope. It is a remarkable and timely story of the bonds between women, the cost of breaking those bonds, and the courage it takes to defy a patriarchy intent on crushing feminine strength." -- Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

"This book is harrowing and absolutely riveting, an insidious journey from reason to madness that manages to completely refresh the concept of the patriarchal dystopia, with a beautifully realized ending that goes to a very different, and even more believable, subtle, and unexpectedly satisfying, place than I expected." - Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner.” Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kim Liggett

Author Bio: Kim Liggett

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 11.71
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English