The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell audiobook

The Family Upstairs: A Novel

By Lisa Jewell
Read by Tamaryn Payne , Bea Holland , and Dominic Thorburn

Simon & Schuster Audio

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781508287681

  • ISBN: 9781508287681

Runtime: 9.61 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestseller

“Rich, dark, and intricately twisted, this enthralling whodunit mixes family saga with domestic noir to brilliantly chilling effect.” —Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author

“A haunting, atmospheric, stay-up-way-too-late read.” —Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author

From the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone comes another page-turning look inside one family’s past as buried secrets threaten to come to light.

Be careful who you let in.

Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she’s been waiting for her entire life. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.

She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents, but also that she is the sole inheritor of their abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London’s fashionable Chelsea neighborhood, worth millions. Everything in Libby’s life is about to change. But what she can’t possibly know is that others have been waiting for this day as well—and she is on a collision course to meet them.

Twenty-five years ago, police were called to 16 Cheyne Walk with reports of a baby crying. When they arrived, they found a healthy ten-month-old happily cooing in her crib in the bedroom. Downstairs in the kitchen lay three dead bodies, all dressed in black, next to a hastily scrawled note. And the four other children reported to live at Cheyne Walk were gone.

In The Family Upstairs, the master of “bone-chilling suspense” (People) brings us the can’t-look-away story of three entangled families living in a house with the darkest of secrets.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Intoxicating.” Entertainment Weekly
“A chilling psychological thriller.” Washington Post
“Distinct, well-developed characters, shifting points of view, and a disturbing narrative that pulses with life create an enthralling tale full of surprises.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Readers won’t be able to put this novel down. Just when they think they have figured it all out, the story twists and turns right up to the last chilling line. Highly recommended for fans of authors such as Gillian Flynn and V. C. Andrews.” Library Journal (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lisa Jewell

Author Bio: Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell is the author of more than a dozen novels, including the New York Times bestsellers Then She Was Gone and The Family Upstairs. Her novels have sold more than two million copies across the English-speaking world, and her work has also been translated into sixteen languages.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 9.61
Audience: Adult
Language: English