Clean Getaway by Nic Stone audiobook

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone

Listening Library (Audio) 9781984892973

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 01/07/2020

    ISBN: 9780593155387

  • Available on 01/07/2020

    ISBN: 9780593155387

Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
  •  Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
  •  Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.
  •  Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
  •  A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed. Teen Vogue
Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness. The New York Times
For fans of authors who dig complex relationships, like Shannon M. Parker, Ashley Woodfolk and Misa Sugiura. Paste Magazine
A radiant masterpiece! Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End
Painfully timely and deeply moving. Jodi Picoult"Raw and gripping.
Powerful, wrenching. John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down
Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching. A must read! Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give
"An absolute firecracker of a book. Booklist, Starred Review"Rich in history, Stone's middle-grade debut entertains and informs young readers....A road trip to remember.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Nic Stone was born and raised in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia, and the only thing she loves more than an adventure is a good story about one. She is a Spelman College graduate. After working extensively in teen mentoring and living in Israel for a few years, she returned to the United States to write full-time. Dear Martin, her first novel, is loosely based on a series of true events involving the shooting deaths of unarmed African American teenagers. Shaken by the various responses to these incidents—and to the pro-justice movement that sprang up as a result—she began the project in an attempt to examine current affairs through the lens of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s teachings.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English