Mercy House by Alena Dillon audiobook

Mercy House: A Novel

By Alena Dillon
Read by  Dawn Harvey , Catherine Ho , Scarlette Hayes , Eboni Flowers , and  Bahni Turpin

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062914804

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781094114194

  • ISBN: 9781094114187

  • ISBN: 9781094114200

Runtime: 9.59 Hours
Category: Fiction/Women
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

“A life-altering debut featuring fierce, funny, and irreverent women who battle the most powerful institution in the world. This is the book we’ve all been waiting for.”—Amy Schumer

She would stop at nothing to protect the women under her care.

Inside a century-old row house in Brooklyn, renegade Sister Evelyn and her fellow nuns preside over a safe haven for the abused and abandoned. Gruff and indomitable on the surface, warm and wry underneath, little daunts Evelyn, until she receives word that Mercy House will be investigated by Bishop Hawkins, a man with whom she shares a dark history. In order to protect everything they’ve built, the nuns must conceal many of their methods, which are forbidden by the Catholic Church.

Evelyn will go to great lengths to defend all that she loves. She confronts a gang member, defies the church, challenges her own beliefs, and faces her past. She is bolstered by the other nuns and the vibrant, diverse residents of the shelter—Lucia, Mei-Li, Desiree, Esther, and Katrina—whose differences are outweighed by what unites them: they’ve all been broken by men but are determined to rebuild.

Amidst her fight, Evelyn discovers the extraordinary power of mercy and the grace it grants, not just to those who receive it, but to those strong enough to bestow it.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Fierce, thoughtful, and dramatic…a story of true courage.” Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author
“Sister Evelyn [is] beautifully portrayed by Dawn Harvey…We hear horrific tales from Mei-Li (Catherine Ho), Lucia (Scarlette Hayes), Desirée (Eboni Flowers), Katrina (Caitlin Kelly) and Esther (Bahni Turpin), and each woman’s story is delivered with heartbreaking honesty. Absolutely riveting. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“For fans of Ann Patchett’s The Patron Saint of Liars or Maile Meloy’s Liars and Saints, Mercy House is a must-read.” San Francisco Book Review
“Dillon balances her protagonist’s righteous anger with an earnest exploration of Evie’s faith and devotion to justice and community service. This uncompromising story will light up book clubs.” Publishes Weekly
“Heartwarming to its core. With a widely diverse cast of supporting characters, author Dillon brings Bed-Stuy to life. Realistic in scope and pious without being preachy.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Alena Dillon

Author Bio: Alena Dillon

Alena Dillon is the author of the acclaimed debut novel Mercy House. Her work has appeared in Slice Magazine, The Rumpus, and Seventh Wave, among others. She earned her MFA degree from Fairfield University.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 9.59
Audience: Adult
Language: English