Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar audiobook

Star Daughter

By Shveta Thakrar
Read by Soneela Nankani

HarperTeen, HarperCollins 9780062894625

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781094170039

  • ISBN: 9781094170022

  • ISBN: 9781094170046

Runtime: 13.10 Hours
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the Nebula Award for Middle Grade & YA Fiction

*Chosen as a 2020 Kids’ Indie Next pick * A Locus Reading List recommendation * An Andre Norton Nebula Award Finalist*

“Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight.”—New York Times bestselling author Holly Black

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens—and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor. 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Inventive worldbuilding, ebullient prose, and kind, hopeful messaging.” Publishers Weekly
“An excellent story about the power of the younger generations to carve their own path amidst the traditions and expectations of their elders.” Bullet of the Center for Children’s Books
“Thakrar’s lyrical prose and imaginative story transport readers to a world tucked away in the limitless sky, a place of shining golden palaces and star song.” School Library Journal
“Loosely inspired by Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and Hindu mythology…Refreshingly, all the characters are Indian or of Indian origin…Great worldbuilding.” Kirkus Reviews
“Absolutely magical and captivatingly lyrical.” Sandhya Menon, author of the Rosetta Academy series
“Thakrar’s world building is nothing short of dazzling, alight with evocations so vivid the mind can’t help but see a kaleidoscope of twinkling shapes and colors.” Booklist
“This lyrical, magical debut novel expertly weaves delicate elements of eastern mythology with contemporary western coming-of-age issues. Thakrar is flawless in her rendering of both.” Voice of Youth Advocates

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Shveta Thakrar

Author Bio: Shveta Thakrar

Shveta Thakrar is an author whose debut novel, Star Daughter, was a finalist for the 2020 Nebula Award. Her work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. Find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 13.10
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English