The Girl in the Painting by Renita D'Silva audiobook

The Girl in the Painting

By Renita D'Silva
Read by Aasiyah Shah

Bolinda Audio 9781797721323

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780655658535

  • ISBN: 9780655658535

Runtime: 15.70 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Lucinda Riley and The Storyteller’s Secret, Renita D’Silva’s exquisite novel explores the strength it takes to do what is right, no matter the cost.

India, 1926: English Margaret arrives with her new husband Suraj at his family home, set amidst beautiful rolling hills, the air filled with the soft scent of spices and hibiscus flowers. Margaret is unwelcome, homesick and lonely, but her maid Archana, a young woman from an impoverished family, reminds her of her long-lost sister, a tiny glimpse of home in a faraway place.

As Margaret and Archana spend more time together, an unexpected friendship blooms. But in British India the divide between rich and poor, English and Indian, is wide, and the clash between Margaret’s modern views and the weight of tradition on Archana will lead to devastating results…

England, 2000: When Emma’s grandmother gives her a mysterious painting, and asks her to take a message of forgiveness to an old friend in India, Emma is relieved to have some time and space to make a decision about her future. But as she fulfils her grandmother’s wish, a secret kept for over seventy years is finally revealed – the story of a day spent painting by a stream full of water lilies, where a betrayal tore three lives apart forever…

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Renita D'Silva

Author Bio: Renita D'Silva

Renita D’Silva is the author of numerous works, including Monsoon Memories, The Stolen Girl, and many short stories. She loves stories, both reading and creating them. Her work has been published in Bartleby Snopes, on Paragraph Planet, and other places, and she has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 15.70
Audience: Adult
Language: English