The Orphan's Gift by Renita D'Silva audiobook

The Orphan's Gift

By Renita D'Silva
Read by Kristin Atherton

Bolinda Audio 9781786816528

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780655682141

  • ISBN: 9780655682141

Runtime: 15.40 Hours
Category: Fiction/Romance
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

She allows herself to kiss her perfect child just once. She wraps the baby in her last gift: a hand-knitted cardigan, embroidered with a water lily pattern. ‘You’re better off without me,’ she whispers and although every step breaks her heart, she walks away.

1910, India. Young and curious Alice, with her spun-gold hair, grows up in her family’s sprawling compound with parents as remote as England, the cold country she has never seen. It is Raju, son of a servant, with whom she shares her secrets. Together, their love grows like roses – but leaves deep thorns. Because when they get too close, Alice’s father drags them apart, sending Raju far away and banishing Alice to England…

1944. Intelligent and kind Janaki is raised in an orphanage in India. The nuns love to tell the story: Janaki’s arrival stopped the independence riots outside the gates, as the men on both sides gazed at the starry-eyed little girl left in a beautiful hand-knitted cardigan. Janaki longs for her real mother, the woman who was forced to abandon her, wrapped in a precious gift…

Now old enough to be a grandmother and living alone in India, Alice watches children play under the tamarind trees, haunted by the terrible mistake she made fifty years ago. It’s just an ordinary afternoon, until a young girl with familiar eyes appears with a photograph and Alice must make a choice. Will she spend the rest of her life consumed by dreams of the past, or can she admit her mistakes and choose love and light at last?

A stunning and heartbreaking novel about how a forbidden love can echo through the generations. Readers who love Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and The Storyteller’s Secret will be captivated.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Renita D'Silva

Author Bio: Renita D'Silva

Renita D’Silva is the author of numerous works, including Monsoon Memories, The Stolen Girl, and many short stories. She loves stories, both reading and creating them. Her work has been published in Bartleby Snopes, on Paragraph Planet, and other places, and she has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Romance
Runtime: 15.40
Audience: Adult
Language: English