The Dark Angel by Elly Griffiths audiobook

The Dark Angel

By Elly Griffiths
Read by Jane McDowell

Recorded Books, Inc. 9780544750326

The Ruth Galloway Mysteries: Book 10

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781664448810

  • ISBN: 9781664556645

Runtime: 9.89 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A Strand Magazine Pick of the Top Ten Books of 2018

It's not every day that you're summoned to the Italian countryside on business, so when archaeologist Angelo Morelli asks for Ruth Galloway's help identifying bones found in the tiny hilltop town of Fontana Liri, she jumps at the chance to go, bringing her daughter along with her for a working vacation. Upon arriving, she begins to hear murmurs of Fontana Liri's strong resistance movement during World War II and senses the townspeople are dancing around a deeply buried secret. But how could that be connected to the ancient remains she's been studying? Ruth is just beginning to get her footing in the dig when she's thrown off-guard by the appearance of DCI Nelson. And when Ruth's findings lead them to a modern-day murder, their holidays are both turned upside down, and they race to find out what darkness is lurking in this seemingly picturesque town.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Rich details about the Italian countryside, gastronomy, and history.” Publishers Weekly
“Griffiths deftly balances the plot lines at home and abroad to deliver another hugely satisfying and entertaining Galloway mystery full of atmosphere and loose ends…The story lines are confidently interwoven, the Italian scenery is vividly drawn, and Ruth and Nelson’s relationship becomes yet more complicated, leaving readers eager for the next installment.” Library Journal
“There is a charming old-home-week feel to this Italian adventure. The humor is well placed, as are the insightful forays into Italy’s history and people, but the gripping ending leaves no doubt that this is, above all, a mystery…A sure bet for fans of strong-minded women and wry humor in the tradition of Rhys Bowen and M.C. Beaton” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elly Griffiths

Author Bio: Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths, winner of the 2011 Mary Higgins Clark Award and the 2016 CWA Dagger in the Library Award, is the author of three series of mysteries for adults and one series for children.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.89
Audience: Adult
Language: English