Send for Me by Lauren Fox audiobook

Send for Me

By Lauren Fox
Read by Natasha Soudek

Blackstone Publishing 9781101947807

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781665043786

  • ISBN: 9781665043779

  • ISBN: 9781665043793

  • Available on 04/02/2021

    ISBN: 9781665108836

Runtime: 7.15 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A Parade Magazine Pick of Best Reads This Winter

A "Read with Jenna" Today Show Book Club Pick for February

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice of the Week

An Indie Next List Great Read Pick

An achingly beautiful work of historical fiction that moves between Germany on the eve of World War II and present-day Wisconsin, unspooling a thread of love, longing, and the powerful bonds of family.

Annelise is a dreamer: imagining her future while working at her parents’ popular bakery in Feldenheim, Germany, anticipating all the delicious possibilities yet to come. There are rumors that anti-Jewish sentiment is on the rise, but Annelise and her parents can’t quite believe that it will affect them; they’re hardly religious at all. But as Annelise falls in love, marries, and gives birth to her daughter, the dangers grow closer: a brick thrown through her window; a childhood friend who cuts ties with her; customers refusing to patronize the bakery. Luckily Annelise and her husband are given the chance to leave for America, but they must go without her parents, whose future and safety are uncertain.

Two generations later, in a small Midwestern city, Annelise’s granddaughter, Clare, is a young woman newly in love. But when she stumbles upon a trove of her grandmother’s letters from Germany, she sees the history of her family’s sacrifices in a new light, and suddenly she’s faced with an impossible choice: the past, or her future. A novel of dazzling emotional richness, Send for Me is a major departure for this acclaimed author, an epic and intimate exploration of mothers and daughters, duty and obligation, hope and forgiveness.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The book is a real achievement—beautifully written, deeply felt…the major accomplishment of Send for Me its vivid depiction of a family’s heartbreak, its rending and rebuilding.” New York Times Book Review
 “An artfully constructed and richly absorbing novel that shows how love is strengthened, not weakened, over distance and time.” Minneapolis Star-Tribune
“Real family letters from Nazi era heighten Send for Me…to portray four generations of women in a family ruptured by the Nazi regime.” Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
“This thoughtful, character-driven exploration of the unbreakable bonds of motherhood will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman and Elizabeth Berg.” Booklist
“An intimate, insightful, intricately rendered story of intergenerational trauma and love.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Moving, heartfelt, and filled with love.” Whitney Scharer, author of Age of Light
“Fox satisfyingly brings this story of love and desire full circle, as Clare and Ruth reflect on what it means to be both a mother and a child in the darkest of times…Tender and deeply inspired.” Publishers Weekly
“A beautifully told story of intergenerational loves and sorrows, the long shadow of memory, and how hope can repair the heartache woven into a family’s DNA.” Jennifer Rosner, author of The Yellow Bird Sings

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lauren Fox

Author Bio: Lauren Fox

Lauren Fox is the author of Still Life with Husband. She earned her MFA from the University of Minnesota, and her work has appeared in the New York Times, Marie Claire, Seventeen, Glamour, and Salon. She lives in Milwaukee with her husband and two daughters.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 7.15
Audience: Adult
Language: English