Where Dead Men Meet (audiobook)

Read by David Linski
11.5 hrs • 9 CDs• 1 MP3 CD• 352 CDs • Unabridged
Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Target Audience: Adult
Release Date: 05/30/17
FORMAT PURCHASED RELEASE ISBN PRICE ADD TO CART
Library CD Library Edition CD titles are packaged in an attractive, full-sized, durable vinyl case with full color art. Cloth Sleeves keep compact discs protected and in numerical order. 
- 05/30/17 9781504797733
$100.00
Add to Cart
MP3 CD MP3-CDs: Come in a durable vinyl case similar to a dvd case. An index of contents and tracking information are included within the Mp3-CD format. MP3's can be played on any compatible CD player 
- 05/30/17 9781504797757
$29.95
Add to Cart
Playaway Playaway: Playaway editions are a pre loaded audio device that is half the size of deck of cards. Simply plugin headphones and listen. 
- 06/01/17 9781538431368
$74.99
Add to Cart
Hardcover 6"x 9" hard cover print book 
- 05/30/17 9781504779739
$26.99
Add to Cart

People Who Bought This Also Bought

Summary

An Audible Pick of Top Mystery of the Week

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris.

Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.

From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Review Quotes

“A grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene…a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss.”

Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author

“A taut thriller…From the opening scene, even the opening line, we know we’re in the hands of a master storyteller…Highly recommended.”

Historical Novel Society

“Like watching a classic Alfred Hitchcock movie…Smart entertainment, a suspenseful escapade across Europe with a dash of romance and involving characters who insist you come along for the unforgettable ride.”

Shelf Awareness

“Set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, Where Dead Men Meet is a compelling and deftly crafted novel by a master of the genre. Rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies, Where Dead Men Meet is a highly entertaining adventure thriller.”

Midwest Book Review

“A pulse-pounding thriller of the first order…Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader’s attention glued until the final page.”

Library Journal (starred review)

“Mills has a sure hand with historical thrillers that mix intrigue, setting, and romance.”

Booklist

“Australian-born reader Linski…[provides] a brisk narration that maintains its energy and compulsive pacing throughout. His Luke seems initially perplexed by his sudden propulsion into an unfamiliar and very dangerous world, but before long there’s strength and self-confidence in his voice that lets listeners glide through this story of international intrigue.”

Publishers Weekly (audio review)

“A powerhouse of a novel, throwing sparks and hissing steam as it traverses the fractious landscape of prewar Europe in the company of vivid and memorable characters.”

Dan Fesperman, award-winning author of The Letter Writer

“The best novel I read this year. Where Dead Men Meet is an exhilarating and hair-raising charge through prewar Europe, with danger at every stunningly beautiful turn. Mills’ descriptions of Paris, Venice, and Zurich are filled with both elegance and lurking menace. Mark Mills is Alan Furst with afterburners, and this book is a powerful tale of revenge, love, and self-discovery, all packed into an utterly compelling historical thriller.”

Mark Pryor, author of The Paris Librarian

“This book hit a lot of the right buttons for me…I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good spy novel with a little pre-WWII intrigue thrown in.”

Big Bald Books