Where Dead Men Meet (audiobook)

Read by David Linski
11.5 hrs • 9 CDs• 1 MP3 CD• 352 CDs • Unabridged
Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Target Audience: Adult
Release Date: 05/30/17
This title will be available on May 30, 2017
FORMAT RELEASE ISBN PRICE ADD TO CART
Library CD Library Edition CD titles are packaged in an attractive, full-sized, durable vinyl case with full color art. Cloth Sleeves keep compact discs protected and in numerical order. 
05/30/17 9781504797733
$100.00
Pre-Order
MP3 CD MP3-CDs: Come in a durable vinyl case similar to a dvd case. An index of contents and tracking information are included within the Mp3-CD format. MP3's can be played on any compatible CD player 
05/30/17 9781504797757
$29.95
Pre-Order
Playaway Playaway: Playaway editions are a pre loaded audio device that is half the size of deck of cards. Simply plugin headphones and listen. 
06/01/17 9781538431368
$74.99
Pre-Order
Hardcover 6"x 9" hard cover print book 
05/30/17 9781504779739
$26.99
Pre-Order

People Who Bought This Also Bought

Summary

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris.

Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.

From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Review Quotes

“Like watching a classic Alfred Hitchcock movie, one with an expertly drawn everyman caught up in engrossing intrigue and on the run from dangerous spies and nefarious characters…Smart entertainment, a suspenseful escapade across Europe with a dash of romance and involving characters who insist you come along for the unforgettable ride.”

Shelf Awareness

Where Dead Men Meet is a taut thriller set in 1937 Europe. From the opening scene, even the opening line, we know we’re in the hands of a master storyteller…Highly recommended.”

Historical Novel Society

Where Dead Men Meet is a grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene’s ‘entertainments,’ and John Buchan’s before that—a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss. Here’s hoping it’s only the first of many exploits for Luke and Pippi.”

Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author

“A powerhouse of a novel, throwing sparks and hissing steam as it traverses the fractious landscape of prewar Europe in the company of vivid and memorable characters.”

Dan Fesperman, award-winning author of The Letter Writer

“A pulse-pounding thriller of the first order…Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader’s attention glued until the final page.”

Library Journal (starred review)

“Dramatic and intriguing.”

Publishers Weekly

“Like Alan Furst, Mills has a sure hand with historical thrillers that mix intrigue, setting, and romance, and, after a five-year absence, it’s great to have him back.”

Booklist

“The best novel I read this year. Where Dead Men Meet is an exhilarating and hair-raising charge through prewar Europe, with danger at every stunningly beautiful turn. Mills’ descriptions of Paris, Venice, and Zurich are filled with both elegance and lurking menace. Mark Mills is Alan Furst with afterburners, and this book is a powerful tale of revenge, love, and self-discovery, all packed into an utterly compelling historical thriller.”

Mark Pryor, author of The Paris Librarian