Things That Grow by Meredith Goldstein audiobook
Reissue

Things That Grow

By Meredith Goldstein
Read by Tessa Netting

HMH Young Readers Audio, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, HMH Audio 9781328770103

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9780358577386

  • ISBN: 9781665060677

  • ISBN: 9781665060660

  • ISBN: 9798200697601

Runtime: 8.22 Hours
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

After her grandmother dies, a girl travels to different gardens to scatter her ashes, learning about life and love along the way. From Love Letters advice columnist and podcast host Meredith Goldstein, this emotionally resonant novel with a touch of humor is perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jenna Evans Welch.

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Sharp wit and clever details pull this story out of the weeds of becoming just another grief narrative, and Goldstein’s writing blossoms in its portrayal of messy, complicated relationships....A charming story that promises to delight. Kirkus "Never has a book about scattering ashes been so full of life! Goldstein tackles grief with a sense of humor that will make you appreciate being alive—and also haunt you with the knowledge that there are human cremains lurking in every baseball stadium ever.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Meredith Goldstein

Author Bio: Meredith Goldstein Meredith Goldstein is the author of the novel The Singles (Penguin/Plume), which was published in 2012 and appeared on the Globe‘s bestseller list. Meredith launched her career at the Baltimore City Paper and the Providence Journal and has been working for the Boston Globe for thirteen years where she now serves as the paper’s beloved entertainment reporter and its widely-read national columnist.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Runtime: 8.22
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English