Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley audiobook

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Read by Isabella Star LaBlanc

Macmillan Young Listeners 9781250766564

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781250779526

  • ISBN: 9781250779526

Runtime: 14.23 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims. Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Angeline Boulley

Author Bio: Angeline Boulley

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 14.23
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English