Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge audiobook

Libertie: A Novel

By Kaitlyn Greenidge
Read by Channie Waites

Recorded Books Inc. 9781616207014

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781980075486

  • ISBN: 9781665002851

Runtime: 12.20 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A March 2021 LibraryReads Pick

“Pure brilliance. So much will be written about Kaitlyn Greenidge’s Libertie—how it blends history and magic into a new kind of telling, how it spins the past to draw deft circles around our present—but none of it will measure up to the singular joy of reading this book.” —Mira Jacob, author of Good Talk The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award–winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom. Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother’s choices and is hungry for something else—is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark. When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it—for herself and for generations to come. Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge’s new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kaitlyn Greenidge

Author Bio: Kaitlyn Greenidge

Kaitlyn Greenidge is an author whose debut novel, We Love You Charlie Freeman, was one of the New York Times Critics’ Top 10 Books of 2016 and was a finalist for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize and for the Young Lions Award. She is a contributing writer for the New York Times, and her writing has also appeared in Vogue, Glamour, the Wall Street Journal, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of fellowships from the Whiting Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 12.20
Audience: Adult
Language: English