The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff audiobook

The Woman with the Blue Star

By Pam Jenoff
Read by Jennifer Jill Araya , Emily Lawrence , and Nancy Peterson

Harlequin Audio, Park Row Books 9780778311546

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781665068697

  • ISBN: 9781665068680

  • ISBN: 9781665068703

Runtime: 12.34 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A May 2021 LibraryReads Pick

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II.

1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the horrors of the Kraków Ghetto during World War II. When the Nazis liquidate the ghetto, Sadie and her pregnant mother are forced to seek refuge in the perilous sewers beneath the city. One day Sadie looks up through a grate and sees a girl about her own age buying flowers.

Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. Scorned by her friends and longing for her fiancé, who has gone off to war, Ella wanders Kraków restlessly. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it’s a girl hiding.

Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds. Inspired by harrowing true stories, The Woman with the Blue Star is an emotional testament to the power of friendship and the extraordinary strength of the human will to survive.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[A] haunting, harrowing tale of love, loss, and survival…This is the historical novel Pam Jenoff was born to write, and she does so with passion and authenticity. Readers who loved The Nightingale and The Alice Network will happily follow The Woman with the Blue Star.” Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author
“Once again, Pam Jenoff displays her mastery. The Woman with the Blue Star [is] a haunting tale of enduring bonds, impossible sacrifice, and an inspiring fortitude to survive the darkness. Book clubs will assuredly devour this compulsively readable novel that both wrenches and warms the heart.” Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author
“A beautifully written and extraordinarily well-researched story. Pam Jenoff captures the trials and the triumphs of the human spirit during the WWII era like no one else. This book is a must-read.” Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author
“As I read this searing story of the Holocaust, I was transported, heart and soul…The Woman with the Blue Star is a profoundly moving novel from a writer who is, deservedly, both admired and beloved for the truth, power, and beauty of her work.” Jennifer Robson, internationally bestselling author
“Heartfelt and beautifully written…This emotional novel is filled with twists, turns, and displays of bravery and love that you will never forget, culminating in an ending that manages to be both surprising and uplifting at the same time. This is singular historical fiction that you will not be able to put down.” Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author
“Pam Jenoff’s meticulously researched story of an unlikely and dangerous friendship during WWII is a timely and compelling account of the lengths we go to for the family we are born with, and the family we make for ourselves. It will leave you gasping at the end.” Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Pam Jenoff

Author Bio: Pam Jenoff

Pam Jenoff is the author of several books of historical fiction, including the New York Times bestsellers The Lost Girls of Paris and The Orphan’s Tale. Her novels are inspired by her experiences working at the Pentagon and also as a diplomat for the State Department handling Holocaust issues in Poland. She holds a bachelor’s degree in international affairs from George Washington University and a master’s degree in history from Cambridge, and she received her Juris Doctor from the University of Pennsylvania.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 12.34
Audience: Adult
Language: English