The Atmospherians by Alex McElroy audiobook

The Atmospherians: A Novel

By Alex McElroy
Read by Emily Tremaine

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982158309

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 05/18/2021

    ISBN: 9781797128757

  • Available on 05/18/2021

    ISBN: 9781797128740

Runtime: 10.96 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A “dazzling” (Bryan Washington, author of Lot) and brilliantly satirical debut novel for fans of Women Talking and Red Clocks about two best friends—a disgraced influencer and a struggling actor—who form The Atmosphere, a cult designed to reform problematic men.

Sasha Marcus was once the epitome of contemporary success: an internet sensation, social media darling, and a creator of a high profile wellness brand for women. But a confrontation with an abusive troll has taken a horrifying turn, and now she’s at rock bottom: canceled and doxxed online, fired from her waitress job and fortressed in her apartment while men’s rights protestors rage outside. All that once glittered now condemns.

Sasha confides in her oldest childhood friend, Dyson—a failed actor with a history of body issues—who hatches a plan for Sasha to restore her reputation by becoming the face of his new business venture, The Atmosphere: a rehabilitation community for men. Based in an abandoned summer camp and billed as a workshop for job training, it is actually a rigorous program designed to rid men of their toxic masculinity and heal them physically, emotionally, and socially. Sasha has little choice but to accept. But what horrors await her as the resident female leader of a crew of washed up, desperate men? And what exactly does Dyson want?

Explosive and wickedly funny, this “Fight Club for the millennial generation” (Mat Johnson, author of Pym) peers straight into the dark heart of wellness and woke-ness, self-mythology and self-awareness, by asking what happens when we become addicted to the performance of ourselves.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This novel is dazzling.” Bryan Washington, author of Memorial

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Alex McElroy

Author Bio: Alex McElroy

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.96
Audience: Adult
Language: English