The Deadline Effect by Christopher Cox audiobook

The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute—Before the Last Minute

By Christopher Cox
Read by George Newbern

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982132279

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781797125992

  • ISBN: 9781797125985

Runtime: 5.77 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/Business & Economics
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, Christopher Cox’s The Deadline Effect is a wise and counterintuitive book that that explores the power of deadlines as uniquely effective tools of motivation and empowerment.

Perfectionists and procrastinators alike agree—it’s natural to dread a deadline. Whether your goal is to complete a masterpiece or just check off an overwhelming to-do list, the ticking clock signals despair. Christopher Cox knows the panic of the looming deadline all too well—as a magazine editor, he has spent years overseeing writers and journalists who couldn’t meet a deadline to save their lives. After putting in a few too many late nights in the newsroom, he became determined to learn the secret of managing deadlines. He set off to observe nine different organizations as they approached a high-pressure deadline. Along the way, Cox made an ever greater discovery: these experts didn’t just meet their big deadlines—they became more focused, productive, and creative in the process.

In The Deadline Effect, Cox shares the strategies these teams used to guarantee success while staying on schedule: a restaurant opening for the first time, a ski resort covering an entire mountain in snow, a farm growing enough lilies in time for Easter, and more. Cox explains how readers can understand the psychological underpinnings of expectations and time, the dynamics of teams and customers, and techniques for using deadlines to make better, more assured decisions.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The Deadline Effect is filled with case studies that are smart, fun to read, and filled with drama. And most important, there are real lessons here: about how to work more creatively and efficiently and how the ticking clock of a deadline often pushes us to do our best work.” Charles Duhigg, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Christopher Cox

Author Bio: Christopher Cox

Christopher Cox has written about politics, business, books, and science for the New York Times Magazine, GQ, Harper’s, Wired, and Slate. He was formerly the chief editor of Harper’s Magazine and executive editor of GQ, where he worked on stories that won the Pulitzer Prize, the PEN Literary Award for Journalism, and multiple National Magazine Awards. In 2020, he was named a Knight Science Journalism Fellow at MIT and a visiting scholar at NYU’s Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute. He attended Harvard University and graduate school at the University of Cambridge.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Nonfiction/Business & Economics
Runtime: 5.77
Audience: Adult
Language: English