Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin audiobook

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel

By Emily Austin

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982167356

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 07/06/2021

    ISBN: 9781797123370

  • Available on 07/06/2021

    ISBN: 9781797123363

Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

This hilarious and profound debut for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, follows a morbidly anxious young woman—“the kindhearted heroine we all need right now” (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author)—who stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and becomes obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she’s there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace.

In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace’s old friend. She can’t bear to ignore the kindly old woman, who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can’t bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace’s death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence.

A delightful blend of warmth, deadpan humor, and pitch-perfect observations about the human condition, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling exploration of what it takes to stay afloat in a world where your expiration—and the expiration of those you love—is the only certainty.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Introducing the bumbling, anxious, helplessly kindhearted heroine we all need right now. Gilda might be an accidental Catholic, a lapsed lesbian, and an inept receptionist, but she’s awfully good at helping us reckon—hilariously, tenderly—with our impending deaths.” Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emily Austin

Author Bio: Emily Austin

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English