The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo audiobook

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Read by Elizabeth Acevedo

HarperCollins 9780062662804

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538500231

  • ISBN: 9781538500217

  • ISBN: 9781538500224

Runtime: 3.51 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award for Young People's Literature

Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature

Winner of the 2019 Walter Award in the Teen Category

Winner of the Boston Globe - Horn Book Award

Winner of the 2019 Indies Choice Book Award for Young Adult Book of the Year

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize

A 2019 Audie Award Finalist for Best Narration in Young Adult Fiction

A 2019 Audie Award Finalist for Best Narration by the Author or Authors

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.” Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times bestselling author
“The author’s passion and pacing unite in her rhythmic reading of linked free-verse poems telling the story of Xiomara Barista. The author, a performance poet, and her heroine possess a gift for arranging words, sequencing sounds, and enriching both with emotions…The subject, tone, form, and expression of this audiobook are diverse and poignant. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“In nearly every poem, there is at least one universal truth about adolescence, family, gender, race, religion, or sexuality that will have readers either nodding in grateful acknowledgment or blinking away tears.” Horn Book (starred review)
“A complex and sometimes painful exploration of love in its many forms, with Xiomara’s growing love for herself reigning supreme.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Poignant and real, beautiful and intense, this story of a girl struggling to define herself is as powerful as Xiomara’s name: ‘one who is ready for war.’” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A powerful, heartwarming tale of a girl not afraid to reach out and figure out her place in the world.” Booklist
“I devoured this magnificent work of art. Elizabeth Acevedo gets everything right, bringing the magic of the verse novel to stunning new heights. A glorious achievement. This is a story about what it means to be a writer and how to survive when it feels like the whole world’s turned against you. Required reading for everybody alive today.” Daniel José Older, author of the Shadowshaper Cypher series

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Acevedo

Author Bio: Elizabeth Acevedo

Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. She has written a collection of poetry and novels, including The Poet X, which won the 2018 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Boston Globe/Hornbook Award, and the 2019 Walter Award in the teen category. She holds a BA degree in performing arts from George Washington University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.51
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English