The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris audiobook

The Sweetness of Water: A Novel

By Nathan Harris
Read by William DeMeritt

Little, Brown & Company, Hachette Book Group 9780316461276

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 06/15/2021

    ISBN: 9781549164040

  • Available on 06/15/2021

    ISBN: 9781549164064

  • Available on 06/15/2021

    ISBN: 9781549164071

Runtime: 12.14 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A Library Journal Editor’s Pick of Best Debut Novels of Spring & Summer 2021

In the spirit of The Known World and The Underground Railroada profound debut about the unlikely bond between two freedmen who are brothers and the Georgia farmer whose alliance will alter their lives, and his, forever

In the waning days of the Civil War, brothers Prentiss and Landry—freed by the Emancipation Proclamation—seek refuge on the homestead of George Walker and his wife, Isabelle. The Walkers, wracked by the loss of their only son to the war, hire the brothers to work their farm, hoping through an unexpected friendship to stanch their grief. Prentiss and Landry, meanwhile, plan to save money for the journey north and a chance to reunite with their mother, who was sold away when they were boys.
 
Parallel to their story runs a forbidden romance between two Confederate soldiers. The young men, recently returned from the war to the town of Old Ox, hold their trysts in the woods. But when their secret is discovered, the resulting chaos, including a murder, unleashes convulsive repercussions on the entire community. In the aftermath of so much turmoil, it is Isabelle who emerges as an unlikely leader, proffering a healing vision for the land and for the newly free citizens of Old Ox.
 
With candor and sympathy, debut novelist Nathan Harris creates an unforgettable cast of characters, depicting Georgia in the violent crucible of Reconstruction. Equal parts beauty and terror, as gripping as it is moving, The Sweetness of Water is an epic whose grandeur locates humanity and love amid the most harrowing circumstances.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Grave beauty is evident immediately.” Library Journal
“Harris writes in intelligent, down-to-earth prose and shows a keen understanding of his characters, and while the plot leads to several tragic events, there’s a tinge of hope at the end. This character study is credible and deeply moving.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Harris’s lucid prose and vivid characterization illustrate a community at war with itself, poisoned by pride and mired in racial and sexual bigotry.” Booklist (starred review)
“The Sweetness of Water is gorgeous and deeply affecting in the tradition of James McBride and Colson Whitehead, but the book’s unforgettable gift is Nathan Harris’s unique voice and breathtaking vision.” Bret Anthony Johnston, author of Remember Me Like This
“Harris…does what all novelists are supposed to do—give birth to vivid characters, people worth caring about, and then get out of their way. The result is better than any debut novel has a right to be.” Richard Russo, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nathan Harris

Author Bio: Nathan Harris

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 12.14
Audience: Adult
Language: English