Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson audiobook

Truly Devious: A Mystery

By Maureen Johnson
Read by Kate Rudd

Katherine Tegen Books 9780062338051

The Truly Devious Series: Book 1

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781538501252

  • ISBN: 9781538501238

  • ISBN: 9781538501245

Runtime: 10.21 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. 

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An intricately plotted, compulsively readable novel that explores not only fascinating crimes but also the mysteries of anxiety, the creative process, contemporary fame, and so much else.” John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Riveting…Jumping between past and present, Johnson’s novel is deliciously atmospheric, with a sprawling cast of complex suspects/potential victims, surprising twists, and a dash of romance. As in her Shades of London books, Johnson remains a master at combining jittery tension with sharp, laugh-out-loud observations.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“There is a lot to love here. Stevie is a smart, relatable, self-aware protagonist…Fans of puzzles, boarding school stories, and true crime will tear through this book and love every minute.” School Library Journal
“Johnson deftly twists two mysteries together…and the result is a suspenseful, attention-grabbing mystery.” Booklist
“A classic mystery that would make Dame Agatha proud.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Maureen Johnson

Author Bio: Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson is a New York Times bestselling author of ten novels for young adults, including The Name of the Star and 13 Little Blue Envelopes. She lives in New York City and travels to the United Kingdom regularly.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.21
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English