Barkskins by Annie Proulx audiobook

Barkskins: A Novel

By Annie Proulx
Read by Robert Petkoff

Simon & Schuster Audio 9780743288781

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781442370067

  • ISBN: 9781442370067

Runtime: 25.88 Hours
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Longlisted for the 2017 Baileys’ Women’s Prize for Fiction

A New York Times Bestseller

A BookRiot Pick of Best Audiobooks

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016

A 2016 Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year, Top 10 Selection

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for June 2016

An Indie Next List Pick for July 2016

A BookPage Top Pick for July 2016

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book


From the Pulitzer Prize–­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading” (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx’s inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. “This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice” (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins “is an awesome monument of a book” (The Washington Post)—“the masterpiece she was meant to write” (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, “This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ‘Brokeback Mountain.’”

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through 300 years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading.” Elle
“Petkoff’s delivery is mesmerizing, with distinctive voices for generations of well-developed characters and perfect pacing and incredible accents that give an air of authenticity…A transporting listen. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“The characters are as diverse as the places they inhabit: they are indigenous Canadian, French, American, and Dutch, to name only a few. They also represent many genders, classes, professions, races, and nationalities. Petkoff gives them all unique and unforgettable voices. It’s possible to get lost in a book like this, but Petkoff’s outstanding narration makes it easy to sink into the life of each character…their particular triumphs and hardships made real by his voice.” Book Riot (audio review)
“A tale too beautiful to miss, excellent for long afternoons spent swaying in a hammock.” Good Housekeeping
Masterful, full of an urgent, tense lyricism, its plotting beautifully unexpected.” USA Today
“Pages melt away as readers zoom through the decades…This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice.” Entertainment Weekly (Grade A)
“Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy.” San Francisco Chronicle
“Magnificent…It conveys you to so many vanished wildwoods, where you get to stand ‘tiny and amazed in the kingdom of pines.’” Outside magazine
“Remarkable…the kind of immersive reading experience that only comes along every few years.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Proulx’s talents shine brightest in her vividly real and tragically flawed characters, who cling to the misguided belief that the bounty of the forest will endure forever.” BookPage

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Annie Proulx

Author Bio: Annie Proulx

Annie Proulx is the author of eight books, including the novel The Shipping News and the story collection Close Range. Her many honors include a Pulitzer Prize, a National Book Award, the Irish Times International Fiction Prize, and a PEN/Faulkner Award. Her short story “Brokeback Mountain,” which originally appeared in the New Yorker, was made into an Academy Award–winning film starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal. Proulx currently lives in Wyoming.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 25.88
Audience: Adult
Language: English