Grit by Angela Duckworth audiobook

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

By Angela Duckworth
Read by Angela Duckworth

Simon & Schuster Audio

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781442397132

  • ISBN: 9781442397132

Runtime: 9.37 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller

A Los Angeles Times Bestseller

A Forbes Magazine Pick for Must-Read Business Books of 2016

A Wall Street Journal Pick for the Hottest Spring Nonfiction Books of 2016

In her instant, multi-month New York Times bestseller, Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.” “Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere” (People).

The daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Angela Duckworth is now a celebrated researcher and professor. It was her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience that led to her hypothesis about what really drives success: not genius, but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes us into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

“Duckworth’s ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better” (The New York Times Book Review). Among Grit’s most valuable insights: any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal; grit can be learned, regardless of IQ or circumstances; when it comes to child-rearing, neither a warm embrace nor high standards will work by themselves; how to trigger lifelong interest; the magic of the Hard Thing Rule; and so much more. Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference. This is “a fascinating tour of the psychological research on success” (The Wall Street Journal).

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.” Malcolm Gladwell, New York Times bestselling author of Outliers
“Impressively fresh and original…Grit scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us.” Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author of Quiet
“A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.” Daniel H. Pink, New York Times bestselling author
“An informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success.” Publishers Weekly
“[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn…Not your grandpa’s self-help book, but Duckworth’s text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Angela Duckworth

Author Bio: Angela Duckworth

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. She is also the founder and scientific director of the Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance the science and practice of character development. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Runtime: 9.37
Audience: Adult
Language: English