The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck by Matt Phelan audiobook

The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck

By Matt Phelan
Read by Gary Furlong

Greenwillow Books, HarperCollins 9780062911001

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9798200854523

  • ISBN: 9798200854516

  • ISBN: 9798200854530

Runtime: 1.91 Hours
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Wherever there is injustice, nefarious plots, or threats to society, the Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck are there to stop them!

A sly villain with a plan to cause havoc across the globe is no match for three extraordinary animals—and their two young human friends. From acclaimed author and artist Matt Phelan, The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck is a hilarious and action-packed middle grade adventure perfect for fans of Skunk and Badger and Flora & Ulysses.

The very first passengers to ride in a hot-air balloon were a sheep, a rooster, and a duck in 1783. And while hot-air balloons are indeed wondrous, ten-year-old Emile is too busy being the fastidious caretaker of ambassador Benjamin Franklin’s château in Paris to think much about them.

But soon, young Emile finds himself right in the middle of a sinister plot. And right in the middle of the secret headquarters for France’s undercover guardians—the very same sheep, rooster, and duck that piloted the first hot-air balloon. If Emile can muster his courage and be bold, he may be the key to helping the heroes save both Benjamin Franklin and the world.

Award-winning author Matt Phelan’s The Sheep, the Rooster, and the Duck is an adventure full of secrets, hijinks, and reimagined historical events. This rip-roaring and surprising story is ideal for reluctant readers, aspiring heroes, and fans of Peter Brown’s The Wild Robot.  

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A delightful historical re-imagining…This amusing, fast-paced tale of land, sky, and spies will easily draw in reluctant readers.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Phelan lays out a rousing series of chases, clashes, ambushes, and rescues both on and above the ground on the way to a triumphant outcome….A grand, giddy, and, at times, literally soaring tale.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Matt Phelan

Author Bio: Matt Phelan

Matt Phelan is the author and illustrator of several picture books and middle grade novels and graphic novels.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 1.91
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English