The Lost Island by Douglas Preston audiobook

The Lost Island: A Gideon Crew Novel

By Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child
Read by David W. Collins

Hachette Book Group, Grand Central Publishing 9781455525775

The Gideon Crew Series: Book 3

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781478902744

  • ISBN: 9781478902126

  • ISBN: 9781478902140

Runtime: 10.83 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A USA Today bestseller

A Washington Post bestseller

One of Barnes & Noble's Biggest Books of August 2014

An iTunes Top Seller

#1 New York Times bestselling authors Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child return with the third book in their series featuring the unforgettable character Gideon Crew

Gideon Crew—brilliant scientist, master thief—is living on borrowed time. When his mysterious employer, Eli Glinn, gives him an eyebrow-raising mission, he has no reason to refuse. Gideon's task: steal a page from the priceless Book of Kells, now on display in New York City and protected by unbreakable security.

Accomplishing the impossible, Gideon steals the parchment—only to learn that hidden beneath the gorgeously illuminated image is a treasure map dating back to the time of the ancient Greeks. As they ponder the strange map, they realize that the treasure it leads to is no ordinary fortune. It is something far more precious: an amazing discovery that could perhaps even save Gideon's life.

Together with his new partner, Amy, Gideon follows a trail of cryptic clues to an unknown island in a remote corner of the Caribbean Sea. There, off the hostile and desolate Mosquito Coast, the pair realize the extraordinary treasure they are hunting conceals an even greater shock-a revelation so profound that it may benefit the entire human race … if Gideon and Amy can survive.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This first new series entry in more than two years spotlights the evolving partnership between Gideon Crew and his new partner Amy.” Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review
“The latest Gideon Crew novel offers fast-paced action, intriguing characters, and an adventure-filled plot. The attention to detail in the initial heist scene adds tension that continues throughout this thriller.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“When it comes to novels by this famous duo, the things all readers can expect are excitement, intrigue, and a story that will not soon be forgotten…The ‘Crew’ stories move at a super-fast pace and never leave the reader wanting…[This is] yet another perfectly unforgettable Preston and Child creation.” Suspense Magazine
“Another intelligent tale by the longtime writing partners.” Sacramento Bee
"[Preston and Child] always go big in their storytelling. The Lost Island is no exception.” Fort Worth Star-Telegram
“Preston and Child’s sparkling third Gideon Crew novel…Gideon refreshingly doesn’t fit the superhero mold, and the enigmatic Amy is more than his equal in daring and intelligence. Fans of H. Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs will find a lot to like.” Publishers Weekly
“Continuing the ‘Gideon Crew’ series of adventure novels, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child add another fast-paced thriller, blending real science with tension, terror, and twists…While David Collins is a master of enunciation, his narration sounds slightly flat—but still compelling. His vocals for Gideon are understated, allowing the character to command respect through his words and actions rather than his tone. Similarly, Collins gives the crippled Eli Glinn a calculated menace. Collins delivers perhaps his best performance with Amy, Gideon’s new assistant, whose high, enigmatic tones slowly reveal the complexity of her character.” AudioFile
“Preston and Child sail Gideon Crew into his third adventure…[The authors] crank up their descriptive powers…[and] stretch the boundaries of the action-adventure novel.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Douglas Preston

Author Bio: Douglas Preston

Douglas Preston, a regular contributor to the New Yorker, worked for the American Museum of Natural History. He is an expert horseman who has ridden thousands of miles across the West. He and author Lincoln Child have cowritten numerous bestselling thrillers.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Lincoln Child

Author Bio: Lincoln Child

Lincoln Child is the New York Times bestselling author of The Forgotten Room, The Third Date, Terminal Freeze, Deep Storm, Death Match, and Utopia, as well as coauthor, with Douglas Preston, of numerous New York Times bestsellers, including Fever Dream.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 10.83
Audience: Adult
Language: English