The Civil War of Amos Abernathy by Michael Leali audiobook

The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

By Michael Leali
Read by Mark Sanderlin

HarperCollins 9780063119864

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9798200971268

  • ISBN: 9798200971251

  • ISBN: 9798200971275

Runtime: 6.49 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A heartfelt debut novel about a boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves—perfect for fans of Dear Sweet Pea and From the Desk of Zoe Washington.

Amos Abernathy lives for history. Literally. He’s been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history: someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Civil War soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in his newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and LGBTQ+ community will delight readers of Ashley Herring Blake, Alex Gino, or Maulik Pancholy. 

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michael Leali

Author Bio: Michael Leali

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.49
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English