The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt’s Fire by Tom Phillips audiobook

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt’s Fire

By Tom Phillips
Read by James Fouhey

Blackstone Publishing 9781645951056

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves Series: Book 1

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9798212030977

  • ISBN: 9798212030960

  • ISBN: 9798212030984

Runtime: 7.73 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Follow the world’s greatest detective you’ve never heard of in this madcap middle grade mystery for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes.

After twelve-year-old John Boarhog’s mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he can get his hands on and explores the artifacts after hours.

But when a rare Egyptian ruby—the highlight of the museum’s new exhibit—goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he’s been tracking for years.

John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius’s Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he’s a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne’er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined.

A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt’s Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves is a great ride, but you don’t have to take my word for it.” LeVar Burton
“A brisk romp chock-full of tricky twists and daffy doings.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tom Phillips

Author Bio: Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips, despite a lifelong struggle with dyslexia, grew up with a passion for storytelling. He writes books that kids can enjoy on their own, but also read aloud and share. He’s had a long career as an editor and artist for clients such as LeVar Burton Kids, HBO, Disney, and ABC, and is currently writing a screenplay for a major studio. An armchair Sherlockian, Tom lives in Los Angeles with his lovely wife and his dog, Dr. Watson.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 7.73
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English