Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin audiobook
Reissue

Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense

By Julia Heaberlin
Read by Eric G. Dove , Whitney Dykhouse , and  Karen Peakes

Brilliance Audio

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781501237423

  • ISBN: 9781501237423

Runtime: 10.15 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

An August 2015 LibraryReads Pick

TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER • For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended.” William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob
“A masterful thriller that shouldn’t be missed…brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed…Don’t miss it.” Washington Post
“Brilliant…A breakout book.” Fort Worth Star-Telegram
“Gripping…The suspense builds as Tessie uncovers devastating secrets from the past en route to the shocking ending.” Publishers Weekly
“An absorbing character study and a good choice for readers who want to really sink into a psychological thriller.” Booklist
“A truly compelling tale of the fragility of memory and elusive redemption.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julia Heaberlin

Author Bio: Julia Heaberlin

Julia Heaberlin is a novelist and an award-winning journalist who has worked at the Fort-Worth Star Telegram, Detroit News, and the Dallas Morning News. Her book Black-Eyed Susans was a London Sunday Times Top Five bestseller.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 10.15
Audience: Adult
Language: English