Normal by Warren Ellis audiobook

Normal: A Novel

By Warren Ellis
Read by John Hodgman

Macmillan Audio

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781427279859

  • ISBN: 9781427279859

Runtime: 3.42 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for December 2016

A November 2016 LibraryReads Pick

Among longlisted titles for Amazon.com Best Books of the Year, 2016

A smart, tight, provocative techno-thriller audiobook straight out of the very near future--by an iconic visionary writer

Some people call it "abyss gaze." Gaze into the abyss all day and the abyss will gaze into you.

There are two types of people who think professionally about the future: Foresight strategists are civil futurists who think about geoengineering and smart cities and ways to evade Our Coming Doom; strategic forecasters are spook futurists, who think about geopolitical upheaval and drone warfare and ways to prepare clients for Our Coming Doom. The former are paid by nonprofits and charities, the latter by global security groups and corporate think tanks.

For both types, if you're good at it, and you spend your days and nights doing it, then it's something you can't do for long. Depression sets in. Mental illness festers. And if the abyss gaze takes hold there's only one place to recover: Normal Head, in the wilds of Oregon, within the secure perimeter of an experimental forest.

When Adam Dearden, a foresight strategist, arrives at Normal Head, he is desperate to unplug and be immersed in sylvan silence. But then a patient goes missing from his locked bedroom, leaving nothing but a pile of insects in his wake. A staff investigation ensues; surveillance becomes total.

As the mystery of the disappeared man unravels in Warren Ellis's Normal, Adam uncovers a conspiracy that calls into question the core principles of how and why we think about the future--and the past, and the now.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

[John] Hodgman grabs listeners with the surreal opening line--"Hand over the entire Internet now and nobody gets hurt and infuses an appropriate blend of sarcasm and bemusement throughout. It's not all played for laughs, though. Hodgman also captures the sinister atmosphere bubbling just below the surface.
“Warren Ellis’ work shows a knack for mad hilarity, merciless action, dark cynicism, and incorruptible bravery.” Wired
“Unpredictable and daringly written, Warren Ellis’s compact novel Normal is a mind-blowing morsel of paranoia…or prescience…Will hit the sweet spot for fans of David Mitchell, Jeff VanderMeer, or anyone who fears that the future is already here.” Amazon.com
“Fantastic…A crackling, funny, and frightening horror story from a unique voice in genre lit.” Kirkus Reviews
“Deliciously perverse.” Publishers Weekly
“Humorist and former Daily Show correspondent John Hodgman narrates the latest techno-dystopian thriller by Warren Ellis…Hodgman grabs listeners with the surreal opening line—“Hand over the entire Internet now and nobody gets hurt”—and infuses an appropriate blend of sarcasm and bemusement throughout. It’s not all played for laughs, though. Hodgman also captures the sinister atmosphere bubbling just below the surface.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Warren Ellis

Author Bio: Warren Ellis

Warren Ellis is the award-winning creator of graphic novels such as FellMinistry of SpacePlanetary, and Transmetropolitan and the author of the novel Crooked Little Vein. His graphic novel RED was adapted into the #1 hit film of the same name starring Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren. He lives in southern England.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 3.42
Audience: Adult
Language: English