Empire of Lies<br> by Raymond Khoury audiobook

Empire of Lies

By Raymond Khoury
Read by Raphael Corkhill

Macmillan Audio 9781250210968

Unabridged

Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Available on 10/01/2019

    ISBN: 9781250243508

  • Available on 10/01/2019

    ISBN: 9781250243508

Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Empire of Lies is a sweeping thriller in the tradition of The Man in the High Castle, Fatherland, and Underground Airlines from New York Times bestselling author Raymond Khoury.

“The best what-if thriller for a long, long time—makes you think, makes you sweat, and makes you choose, between what is and what might have been.”—Lee Child

Istanbul, 1683: Mehmed IV, sultan of the Ottoman Empire, is preparing to lay siege to Vienna, capital of the Holy Roman Empire, when a mysterious visitor arrives in his bedroom—naked, covered in strange tattoos—to deliver a dangerous, world-changing message.

Paris, 2017: Ottoman flags have been flying over the great city for three hundred years, ever since its fall—along with all of Europe—to the empire’s all-conquering army. Notre Dame has been renamed the Fatih Mosque. Public spaces are segregated by gender. And Kamal Arslan Agha, a feted officer in the sultan’s secret police, is starting to question his orders.

Rumors of an impending war with the Christian Republic of America, attacks by violent extremists, and economic collapse have heightened surveillance and arrests across the empire. Tasked with surveying potential threats, Kamal has a heavy caseload—and conscience.

When a mysterious stranger—naked, covered in strange tattoos—appears on the banks of the Seine, Kamal is called in to investigate. But what he discovers is a secret buried in the empire’s past, a secret the Sultan will do anything to silence.

With the mysterious Z Protectorate one step behind, Kamal, together with Nisreen—a fierce human rights lawyer—is caught up in a race across the empire and time itself—a race that could change their world, or destroy it.

Empire of Lies is being published as "The Ottoman Secret" in the UK

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Raymond Khoury’s Empire is a tour de force in both storytelling and breadth of concept.” James Rollins, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Raymond Khoury

Author Bio: Raymond Khoury

Raymond Khoury is the New York Times bestselling author of The Last TemplarThe SanctuaryThe SignThe Templar Salvation, and The Devil’s Elixir. Also an acclaimed screenwriter and producer, he lives in London with his family.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Audience: Adult
Language: English