Vatican Waltz

By Roland Merullo
Read by Cassandra Campbell

8.60 Hours 12/03/2013 unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781482946819

  • ISBN: 9781482946796

  • ISBN: 9781482946802

The new novel from the award-winning author of Golfing with God and Revere Beach Boulevard is the story of a young Catholic woman jolted from a quietly devout life in Boston by a miraculous call to action. Cynthia Piantedosi lives a quiet, unassuming life with her elderly father just outside of Boston. When she loses her beloved grandmother as a child, her faith takes a turn for the devout, and she begins experiencing what she describes as “spells”—moments of such intense prayer that she loses herself. Uninterested in boys and a social life, she develops a deep friendship with the parish priest, whose ideas are often seen as too provocative by his congregation but who encourages her to explore her spells. When he dies in a suspicious hit-and-run accident, the spells intensify, and their message begins to take shape: God is asking her to be the first female Catholic priest. She reaches out to other unreceptive officials within the Catholic establishment and is met with ridicule. Unable to tune out the divine messages, she leaves behind all that she knows, letting the power of her unswerving faith drive her all the way to the Vatican in pursuit of a destiny she doesn’t fully understand—and a turn of events that will rock the church to its foundation.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A December 2013 LibraryReads Pick

The new novel from the award-winning author of Golfing with God and Revere Beach Boulevard is the story of a young Catholic woman jolted from a quietly devout life in Boston by a miraculous call to action.

Cynthia Piantedosi lives a quiet, unassuming life with her elderly father just outside of Boston. When she loses her beloved grandmother as a child, her faith takes a turn for the devout, and she begins experiencing what she describes as “spells”—moments of such intense prayer that she loses herself. Uninterested in boys and a social life, she develops a deep friendship with the parish priest, whose ideas are often seen as too provocative by his congregation but who encourages her to explore her spells. When he dies in a suspicious hit-and-run accident, the spells intensify, and their message begins to take shape: God is asking her to be the first female Catholic priest. She reaches out to other unreceptive officials within the Catholic establishment and is met with ridicule. Unable to tune out the divine messages, she leaves behind all that she knows, letting the power of her unswerving faith drive her all the way to the Vatican in pursuit of a destiny she doesn’t fully understand—and a turn of events that will rock the church to its foundation.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Merullo’s latest is a page-turning novel of religious ideas written with love and imagination…This book will speak loudly to Catholic readers; some will cheer and others will object loudly. It also sings with finely observed details of family relationships, ethnic neighborhood life, and the life of prayer…[A] fresh take on institutional religion and what it means to hear God’s voice.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Amusingly told with exquisite delicacy, Merullo’s compelling and suspenseful tale of faith propels the reader through mystery and revelation…This spiritual journey, full of transcendent descriptions and plot twists, brings many moments of wisdom and humor to savor. For anyone with a philosophical bent, Merullo illuminates truth as only the keenest of observers can.” Library Journal (starred review)
“The real drama here is in the heroine’s relationship with God—and secular-minded readers who think such matters don’t interest them will think again if they give half a chance to Merullo’s loving portrait of a quiet, unassuming woman impelled by faith into deeper engagement with sorrowful, suffering humanity. A fresh, moving portrait of religion as it could and should be. The cliffhanging finale offers hope that we will see more of Cynthia’s odyssey in future books.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Merullo’s explanations of relevant church doctrines allow non-Catholics to understand Cynthia’s journey. His love for the subject matter is evident on every page, and his lush prose is particularly impressive when he describes Cynthia’s travels through Rome and Genoa, allowing the reader a glance inside some very sacred places. Fans of Alice McDermott and Merullo’s earlier work will appreciate the heart, soul, and sheer joy found in Vatican Waltz and one woman’s commitment to a life far more miraculous than she ever imagined.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Roland Merullo

Roland Merullo is the acclaimed author of more than a dozen books, including Revere Beach Boulevard, Golfing with God, and Breakfast with Buddha. He has won numerous prizes, including the Massachusetts Book Award in both fiction and nonfiction. His essays have appeared in the New York Times, Reader’s Digest, and the Chronicle of Higher Education, among other publications.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.60
Audience: Adult
Language: English