A Door in the Earth by Amy Waldman audiobook

A Door in the Earth

By Amy Waldman
Read by Roxanna Hope Radja

Little, Brown & Company, Little, Brown

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781549182006

  • ISBN: 9781549181986

Runtime: 12.57 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A Washington Post Best Audiobook for Your Holiday Drive

A Bookpage Most Anticipated Book in Fiction

From the author of the national bestseller The Submission comes the journey of a young Afghan-American woman trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth in this "penetrating" (O, Oprah Magazine), "stealthily suspenseful," (Booklist, starred review), "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" (Kirkus, starred review) novel for readers of Cutting for Stone and The Reluctant Fundamentalist.


Parveen Shams, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan, a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation.


When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers -- and she must determine her own relationship to the truth.


Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Waldman brings her fierce intelligence and breathtaking descriptive powers to bear in this brilliant, unsentimental novel about what happens when Americans go adventuring abroad.” Nell Freudenberger, New York Times bestselling author
Amy Waldman's penetrating second novel speaks truth to power. O, The Oprah Magazine
Waldman writes about the clash of cultures and ideals with clean-lined grace and quiet eye-level empathy. Entertainment Weekly
“Roxanna Hope Radja delivers the general narration at an easy pace in a sweet, young-sounding voice and gives the various characters distinguishing accents and timbre that complement the story.” Washington Post (audio review)
Waldman has crafted a story that doesn't shrink from moral ambiguity and difficult questions. New York Times
A teeming panoply...layers moving storytelling onto penetrating reportage...Waldman is particularly gifted at giving tangible reality to ethical dilemmas...Few contemporary authors have shown so expertly that well-intentioned intervention can be the most dangerous kind of all. New York Times Book Review
In her illuminating second novel, Waldman unpeels layers of cultural conditioning to explore the American use of 'kind power.' BBC
“A novel as moving as it is provocative.” Christian Science Monitor
“A breathtaking and achingly nuanced examination of the grays in a landscape where black and white answers have long been the only currency. A bone-chilling take-down of America’s misguided use of soft power.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
A deeply well-informed, utterly engrossing, mischievously disarming, and stealthily suspenseful tale...Every aspect of this complex and caustic tale of hype and harm is saturated with insight and ruefulness. Booklist (starred review)
A Door in the Earth is a deeply chilling, multifaceted examination of not just the situation in Afghanistan but also the more pernicious and complex consequences of awakening the sleeping giant that is America. BookPage (starred review)
Thrilling and brilliantly nuanced...The most stunning and supple novel of the season for anyone who wants to understand the larger world and our part in it...A Door in the Earth brings The Quiet American into a new millennial generation. Pico Iyer, bestselling author of The Art of Stillness and The Open Road
Waldman's moral vision, spare and unsparing prose style, and feel for the way history upsets settled lives all make A Door in the Earth one of the essential books of the post-9/11 era. George Packer, National Book Award winner for The Unwinding
Amy Waldman brings her fierce intelligence and breathtaking descriptive powers to bear in this brilliant, unsentimental novel. Nell Freudenberger, New York Times bestselling author of Lost and Wanted
Some stories stick with you, becoming like your own memories. When I finished the last page of this book I could've sworn it had all happened to me. Elliot Ackerman, National Book Award finalist for Dark at the Crossing
“[A] deeply well-informed, utterly engrossing, mischievously disarming, and stealthily suspenseful tale of slow and painful realizations.” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Amy Waldman

Author Bio: Amy Waldman

Amy Waldman was co-chief of the South Asia bureau of the New York Times. Her fiction has appeared in the Atlantic and Boston Review and is anthologized in The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2010. She lives with her family in Brooklyn.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 12.57
Audience: Adult
Language: English