Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen audiobook

Alias Hook

By Lisa Jensen
Read by Ralph Lister

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781250042156

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781483025605

  • ISBN: 9781483025582

  • ISBN: 9781483025599

Runtime: 13.72 Hours
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

“Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It’s my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy.”

Meet Captain James Benjamin Hookbridge, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan’s rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain.

With Stella’s knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook’s last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their never-ending game.

Alias Hook is a beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A really beautifully written novel about Captain Hook. It tells that story from his perspective. He’s stuck in this childhood world where Peter Pan rules everything until an adult woman finally falls into Neverland. It’s an unusual premise. I love it.” Eloisa James, New York Times bestselling author of Three Weeks with Lady X
“A rich and darkly humorous tale of a man trapped in a child’s nightmare. A delicious and thought-provoking read.” Laurie King, New York Times bestselling author
“A marvelous book. A plot to keep you guessing, and a character to fall in love with. Written with verve and warmth, Alias Hook will challenge what you thought you knew about Neverland and have you cheering for an unlikely but irresistible hero.” Paula Brackston, New York Times bestselling author
“Jensen’s wonderful imagination and devotion to history and myth allow the reader to fly with her through this outstanding adventure—no fairy dust required.” Publishers Weekly
“Scintillating description and deep characterization make Jensen’s Neverland a psychologically intriguing place to visit.” Library Journal
“Filled with magical creatures and breathtaking adventure, Jensen’s imaginative yarn is bound to enchant readers of all ages.” Booklist
“Both a cracking adventure and a chance to witness that annoying little prig Peter Pan get a good kicking! Highly recommended.” C. C. Humphreys, author of Vlad: The Last Confession
“Captain Hook is as proud and lonely as Lucifer—though, being a pirate, he’s loads more fun—while the impious Peter Pan is as cruel as an unleashed child can be. Alias Hook is pure joy.” Broos Campbell, author of Peter Wicked

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lisa Jensen

Author Bio: Lisa Jensen

Lisa Jensen is a veteran film critic and newspaper columnist from Santa Cruz, California. Her reviews and articles have appeared in the Los Angeles Times, Cinefantastique, Take One, and Paradox magazine. She has reviewed films for numerous television and radio stations. For thirteen years, she also reviewed books for the San Francisco Chronicle, where her specialty was historical fiction and women’s fiction.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 13.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English