All the Lost Things by Michelle Sacks audiobook

All the Lost Things: A Novel

By Michelle Sacks
Read by Cassandra Morris

Little, Brown & Company, Little, Brown, Hachette Book Group 9780316475457

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781549125751

  • ISBN: 9781549125737

  • ISBN: 9781549128127

Runtime: 7.88 Hours
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A 2020 Audie Award Finalist for Best Female Narration

In the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, an unforgettable young girl goes on a road trip adventure through the American south with her dad-- but what they're leaving behind is as important as what lies ahead.


Dolly is 7 years old. Her number-one all-time most-best friend is her stuffed horse, Clemesta. One sunny Saturday morning, Dad sweeps them both up into his arms and carries them off on a week-long road-trip adventure. Destination: the most special place ever!

The first days on the road are incredibly exciting. Dolly has never been allowed to miss school, or gone on a cross-country trip, or had Dad all to herself. They stop along the way for milkshakes and shopping sprees and a theme park. They get to sleep in motels, eat junk food, and watch cartoons on TV.

But as they get farther from home, Clemesta begins to whisper things in Dolly's ear. Things like, "We need to eat some vegetables," and "When do we get to see Mom?" As much as Dolly doesn't want to spoil the adventure, even she has to admit that things aren't quite right. Dad is acting strange, and sometimes scary, and he seems to think that someone might be following them.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An engrossing tale that probes the darker corners of motherhood, friendship, and marriage.” Good Housekeeping
“The author is adept at generating tension and showing the inevitability of the past (and the law) catching up.” Publishers Weekly
“Will keep readers hooked from the first sentence to the last. Sacks’s use of Dolly’s voice as narrator allows events to unfold from a child’s perspective and encourages readers to try to piece together the secret behind the ‘big adventure,’ which is ultimately unexpected for readers and life-changing for Dolly.” Library Journal
“Narrator Cassandra Morris captures Dolly’s youthful exuberance with ease, fairly hopscotching through Dolly’s ‘advanced’ vocabulary and self-proclaimed wealth of knowledge and skill.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michelle Sacks

Author Bio: Michelle Sacks

Michelle Sacks is the author of novels and a short story collection. Her fiction has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize and for two South African PEN Literary Awards. She holds a master’s degree in literature and film from the University of Cape Town.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, Playaway
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 7.88
Audience: Adult
Language: English