An Accusation by Wendy James audiobook

An Accusation: A Novel

By Wendy James
Read by Cat Gould

Brilliance Audio 9781542026253

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781713554967

  • ISBN: 9781713554967

Runtime: 9.33 Hours
Category: Fiction/Women
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A shocking crime draws accused and accuser into a complex web of secrets and lies in a twisting novel of suspense by the bestselling author of The Golden Child.

When eighteen-year-old Ellie Canning is discovered wandering the countryside, dazed and traumatized, she tells a harrowing story of abduction, captivity, and escape. An overnight symbol of survival and empowerment, Ellie enthralls an outraged nation.

Then authorities zero in on an unlikely suspect: high school teacher Suzannah Wells, identified by Ellie as the woman who kept her drugged and bound in a basement. The evidence against Suzannah is damning—vilified by the media, Suzannah’s only defense is that not a single word Ellie says is true. Suzannah has no reason to lie. But then again, neither does Ellie.

The nightmare spins out of control as disturbing details about Suzannah’s past emerge, and the court of public opinion wants blood. Even those closest to Suzannah begin to doubt her. But how innocent is she? How innocent is Ellie? And which one has more to hide?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Both gripping and timely, An Accusation’s sharp narrative will demand your attention from page one. Wendy James spins a web of mystery that will leave you feeling upside down, in the very best way. Highly recommend! Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, authors of The Two Lila Bennetts
An Accusation will grip you from page one…Intelligent, suspenseful, and masterfully paced, with a killer twist in the tail, An Accusation is domestic noir at its best, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Caroline Overington, and Liane Moriarty. Better Reading
James brilliantly takes this historical true crime and updates it for the internet age. Sydney Morning Herald

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Wendy James

Author Bio: Wendy James

Wendy James, Australia’s queen of the domestic thriller, writes some of the sharpest, most topical domestic noir in the country. She is the author of nine novels, including An AccusationThe Golden Child―shortlisted for the 2017 Ned Kelly Award―and the bestselling The Mistake. Her debut novel, Out of the Silence, won the 2006 Ned Kelly Award for first crime novel and was shortlisted for the Nita May Dobbie Award for women’s writing. She has a PhD from the University of New England, and she works as an editor, teacher, and researcher.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 9.33
Audience: Adult
Language: English