Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall audiobook

Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague

By David K. Randall
Read by Charles Constant

Highbridge Audio, HighBridge

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781665126946

  • ISBN: 9781665126922

  • ISBN: 9781665126939

Runtime: 7.84 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/History
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A spine-chilling saga of virulent racism, human folly, and the ultimate triumph of scientific progress.

For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn't noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin—a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong's tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed ten million lives worldwide.

To local press, railroad barons, and elected officials, such a possibility was inconceivable—or inconvenient. As they mounted a cover-up to obscure the threat, it fell to federal health officer Rupert Blue to save a city that refused to be rescued.

In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, bestselling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue's race to understand the disease and contain its spread—the only hope of saving San Francisco, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: David K. Randall

Author Bio: David K. Randall

David K. Randall is the New York Times bestselling author of Dreamland and a senior reporter at Reuters. A California native, he now lives outside of New York City.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/History
Runtime: 7.84
Audience: Adult
Language: English