Black Shack Alley by Joseph Zobel audiobook

Black Shack Alley

By Joseph Zobel
Read by Ron Butler

Recorded Books Inc., Recorded Books, Inc. 9780143133957

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781664593466

  • ISBN: 9781664757301

Runtime: 9.63 Hours
Category: Fiction/Classics
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

The semiautobiographical Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau

A Penguin Classic

Following in the tradition of Richard Wright’s Black Boy, Joseph Zobel’s semiautobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of José, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As José transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M’man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers.

Zobel’s masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley directed by Euzhan Palcy, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This classic of West Indian literature from Zobel is the heady semiautobiographical account of José…Zobel relays José’s pain and frustration in measured, matter-of-fact prose. This perfectly captures the education of an outsider in the shadow of colonization.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joseph Zobel

Author Bio: Joseph Zobel

Joseph Zobel (1915–2006), noted poet, author, and gifted sculptor, was born in Petit-Bourg, Martinique. He has published many collections of stories and a volume of verse, Incantation pour un retour au pays natal. His novel La fête à Paris is the continuation of La rue cases-nègres (translated as Black Shack Alley).

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Classics
Runtime: 9.63
Audience: Adult
Language: English