Alias Anna by Susan Hood audiobook

Alias Anna: A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis

By Susan Hood  and Greg Dawson
Read by Aimée B. Dawson

HarperCollins 9780063083899

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9798200855315

  • ISBN: 9798200855292

  • ISBN: 9798200855339

Runtime: 3.37 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/History
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

The moving true story of how young Ukrainian Jewish piano prodigies Zhanna (alias “Anna”) and her sister Frina outplayed their pursuers while hiding in plain sight during the Holocaust. A middle grade nonfiction novel-in-verse by award-winning author Susan Hood with Greg Dawson (Zhanna’s son).

She wouldn’t be Zhanna. She’d use an alias. A for Anna. A for alive.

When the Germans invade Ukraine, Zhanna, a young Jewish girl, must leave behind her friends, her freedom, and her promising musical future at the world’s top conservatory. With no time to say goodbye, Zhanna, her sister Frina, and their entire family are removed from their home by the Nazis and forced on a long, cold, death march. When a guard turns a blind eye, Zhanna flees with nothing more than her musical talent, her beloved sheet music, and her father’s final plea: “I don’t care what you do. Just live.” 

This incredible true story in-verse about sisterhood, survival, and music is perfect for fans of Lifeboat 12, Inside Out and Back Again, and Alan Gratz.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Susan Hood

Author Bio: Susan Hood

Susan Hood is the award-winning author of many books for young readers. She is the recipient of an E. B. White Read Aloud Picture Book Honor, the Christopher Award, the Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature, the Golden Kite Award, and the Bank Street Flora Stieglitz Straus Award, given annually for “a distinguished work of nonfiction that serves as an inspiration to young people.”

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Greg Dawson

Author Bio: Greg Dawson

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/History
Runtime: 3.37
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English