The New Life by Tom Crewe audiobook

The New Life

By Tom Crewe
Read by Freddie Fox

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781668000830

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781797149271

  • ISBN: 9781797149264

Runtime: 13.57 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice of the Week

A Town & Country Magazine Pick of Must-Read Books of the Season

A brilliant and captivating debut, in the tradition of Alan Hollinghurst and Colm Tóibín, about two marriages, two forbidden love affairs, and the passionate search for social and sexual freedom in late 19th-century London.

In this powerful, visceral novel about love, sex, and the struggle for a better world, two men collaborate on a book in defense of homosexuality, then a crime—risking their old lives in the process.

In the summer of 1894, John Addington and Henry Ellis begin writing a book arguing that what they call “inversion,” or homosexuality, is a natural, harmless variation of human sexuality. Though they have never met, John and Henry both live in London with their wives, Catherine and Edith, and in each marriage there is a third party: John has a lover, a working class man named Frank, and Edith spends almost as much time with her friend Angelica as she does with Henry. John and Catherine have three grown daughters and a long, settled marriage, over the course of which Catherine has tried to accept her husband’s sexuality and her own role in life; Henry and Edith’s marriage is intended to be a revolution in itself, an intellectual partnership that dismantles the traditional understanding of what matrimony means.

Shortly before the book is to be published, Oscar Wilde is arrested. John and Henry must decide whether to go on, risking social ostracism and imprisonment, or to give up the project for their own safety and the safety of the people they love. Is this the right moment to advance their cause? Is publishing bravery or foolishness? And what price is too high to pay for a new way of living?

A richly detailed, insightful, and dramatic debut novel, The New Life is an unforgettable portrait of two men, a city, and a generation discovering the nature and limits of personal freedom as the 20th century comes into view.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beautiful, haunting portrait of love in a time that didn’t understand it and a reminder of how close we are to the past.” Town & Country
“Crewe uses meticulously researched period details to great effect and rounds out the narrative with solid characters and tight pacing.” Publishers Weekly
“The New Life is filled with nuance and tenderness, steeped in the atmosphere of late nineteenth century London, a world on the brink of social and sexual change.” Colm Tóibín, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tom Crewe

Author Bio: Tom Crewe

Tom Crewe was born in Middlesbrough, England, in 1989. He has a PhD in nineteenth-century British history from the University of Cambridge. Since 2015, he has been an editor at the London Review of Books, to which he has contributed more than thirty essays on politics, art, history, and fiction. The New Life is his first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 13.57
Audience: Adult
Language: English