Code Name: Lise by Larry Loftis audiobook

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman

By Larry Loftis
Read by Kate Reading

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781501198656

Unabridged

Format : Library CD (In Stock)
  • ISBN: 9781508278924

  • ISBN: 9781508278917

Runtime: 9.99 Hours
Category: Nonfiction/History
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today!

Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub
“A nonfiction thriller.”—The Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A riveting true story of love, betrayal, and sacrifice, as engaging as any thriller, and not to be missed.” Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Loftis delivers a tale of courage, daring, valor—and love—for the ages. Code Name: Lise is the closest history comes to a romance novel.” Elizabeth Cobbs, New York Times bestselling author
“ Kate Reading does a solid job as narrator. She voices Odette Sansom, the French-born British agent, with French-inflected English and pronounces French and German names, places, and titles with ease and clarity…The scenes of Odette’s imprisonment and torture are harrowing. Reading rightly offers no false theatrics in these passages, letting the words speak for themselves.”

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Larry Loftis

Author Bio: Larry Loftis

Larry Loftis is an attorney, author, and adjunct professor of law. He has published legal articles in the University of Florida Law Review, Suffolk Transnational Law Journal, Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law, Florida Bar Journal, National Law Journal, and Florida Banking. He received a BA from the University of Florida, an MA from Reformed Theological Seminary, and a JD from the University of Florida Law School, where he served on the Law Review as the senior executive editor and senior articles editor. He also served at the law school as a teaching fellow for Legal Research and Writing/Appellate Advocacy.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, Library CD
Category: Nonfiction/History
Runtime: 9.99
Audience: Adult
Language: English